Things I dislike that everyone else loves

27 Jul

Certain things exist in society that are universally loved: The Beatles, McDonald’s, U2. If you dislike any of these items, there’s something wrong with you. People look at you like, “Oh, my God, you don’t like chocolate?”

I’m not sure what it is about sharing that dislike that so puts people off. It’s like you’re not participating in a universal adoration, so you must be off. It seems to offend people, when they find out about this simple preference. I’ve never been of the opinion that one should have to apologize for her opinions. It’s personal preference — that’s why it’s called “personal.”

Some things I dislike that everyone around me adores?

  • U2. Don’t get it. Bono’s humanitarianism aside, I don’t get the Bono love. The instruments, writing and vocal talents all seem merely good — nothing more than that.
  • Parades. They’re boring. (Click on that link. It’s a great back-and-forth from “How I Met Your Mother” with some other stellar examples of great things that actually suck. And “Coat check girl”? Totally Jayma Mays, aka, Emma Pillsbury on “Glee.”)
  • Cheeseburgers. I like my burgers sans cheese. The flavors don’t appeal to me. Unless we’re talking blue cheese. Blue cheese crumbles on a hamburger is one of life’s simple pleasures.
  • Oprah. Again, humanitarianism aside, the woman was a god-awful interviewer. Yes, it’s her show, but that doesn’t give her a right to interrupt people as they’re answering her question. And if I’m ever able to launch a magazine called J, I will not be putting myself on the cover of every. Single. Issue.
  • The look of an elastic headband worn across your forehead. Unless it’s for a hippie Halloween costume, just say no.
  • Red and green peppers. You would not believe how much I get, “You don’t like peppers???” when I share this preference. No, I don’t. That is what evil tastes like. Move on.

Your turn. What do you loath that gets you the most raised eyebrows?

9 Responses to “Things I dislike that everyone else loves”

  1. Mary July 27, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    This made me chuckle because, with only a few exceptions, everything you listed I either still dislike or have only recently come around to liking. I was a Beatles hater until I saw the movie A Hard Day’s Night in a group situation maybe four years ago, and for some reason, I got into U2 after spontaneously buying their last album on the strength of a random review.

    • Jaclyn July 27, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      Those examples at the start of the blog, with the exception of U2, I don’t really have a problem with. I love me some chocolate. The Beatles, I’m kind of meh on. I have some songs I adore, but I was definitely never going to memorize their song book or anything. … Though me eating McDonald’s is a pretty recent thing. I didn’t touch the stuff for probably a decade and a half.

  2. KLZ July 27, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    With the exception of cheeseburgers, which I LOVE, I’m with you on all of this. One day you know Oprah is going to lead a parade for red peppers and everyone is going to go nuts. Except you and me.

  3. PhaseThreeOfLife July 27, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Peanut butter. I have offended many people with my severe dislike of peanut butter. I don’t control the taste buds, people, they control ME!

  4. Ally July 27, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    This is too funny. I don’t really go for Parades and Oprah either. And that headband? I saw a picture of a cousin’s daughter wearing that with her fancy dance dress and I laughed. (NOT in front of her) It just seemed so random and out of place. And really, I cannot STAND to listen to Oprah – every time she says something she thinks is important, she repeats it three times – as if it’s the most important phrase to grace our ears. Ack. Drives me nuts.

  5. Suburban Sweetheart July 27, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Dude, me neither. ON all of these except peppers. I’m with you!

  6. avatarlady July 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    No way, red and green peppers are amazingly good. Found my way here via email.

  7. Valli July 27, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Ha, love this! I was all, “Yeah! Yeah! YEAH!” as I was reading down the list, and then I got to red and green peppers, and I was like, “How could she not like peppers? Oh, wait, ah, I see what she’s getting at…”

    I saw this clip of Oprah on The Soup. She was swinging on a rope at some wilderness retreat somewhere and yelling, “My vajajay is chafing!” My husband and I laughed so hard we cried. Whenever anyone says her name, I like to yell, “My vajayjay is chafing!” afterward. Just for kicks.

  8. Megan Coffie July 27, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Oh, U2 and Oprah, I agree 100%! I don’t like “Lil Wayne” and mostly everyone around me thinks he’s so “fly” haha. And, I never tell people this, but I don’t really like Micheal Jackson! D: That’s a big one that insults people, for some reason…

I'd love to hear what you think!