The best decision I ever made

28 Jun

Four years ago today, my dad, the fellow I was dating and I left my old apartment and drove out of state to my  new place in a state where I had no family, no boyfriend and one friend, a gal I knew in college but had lost touch with.

Scary? Yeah, but I was more excited than scared.

In retrospect? Best damn decision I ever made in my life.

It got me out of a job I loathed and away from a guy who sucked (not the nice fellow who helped me move). It put me on my own and made me rediscover me (the aforementioned “guy who sucked” had kind of helped me to utterly forget who I was). It helped me learn to love my solitude and appreciate the beauty of a Friday night spent with a Papa John’s pizza and whatever movie happened to be on TBS. It helped me realize that a Saturday day matinee movie on my own is one of life’s greatest pleasures, as is Cracker Barrel or IHOP breakfast with just my sweet self and Stephen (King).

It helped me become the me I had been, and more. Because this me that I am? I adore her. She’s the woman I always wanted to be, and she wouldn’t exist without this place and these people.

So even though my city is currently 107 degrees, feeling like 111 degrees, this is my cyber hug. Thanks for being swell.

What’s the best decision you ever made?

One Response to “The best decision I ever made”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart July 3, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    The best decision I ever made was studying/working in D.C. the summer before my senior year. Changed my life, quite literally. After I graduated, I landed a job with the org where I studied/worked – & I’m still with them, five years after that. Best. Decision.

I'd love to hear what you think!

