What do you think of colored eyeliner?

29 May

When I was in eighth grade, I had a crush on a boy named Ryan. Eventually, he learned I had a crush on him and asked me out. (I’m not sure what your junior high “relationships” were like, but mine involved a boy saying “Will you go out with me?” and, if you accept, you were “together.” Which meant you’d sometimes talk on the phone after school, and you’d sit next to each other in classes you shared or at school events.)

So I’m “dating” this boy, Ryan, and one day, he tells me, “Your eyeliner makes you look dead.”

It was green, and I loved it. But I stopped wearing it on that day, for obvious reasons. I did not want to look dead. (Nor did I want to “date” someone who would say that to  me, so I shortly after called it kaputs. Ryan and Jaclyn, we hardly knew ye.)

I didn’t touch a colored liner for ages. Then, a few years ago, I found a Rimmel eyeliner in, yes, green. I remembered Ryan, and then I remembered how much I loved the stuff, and I bought it.

I still mainly stick with black liner, but occasionally, I still like to switch it up. A friend recently gave me a waterproof magenta liner — also Rimmel — she didn’t like called Purple Shock. I wasn’t sure how the Exaggerate liner (excuse me, definer) would work with my nearly-black eyes and lashes, but I have to say: I sort of dig it. It’s definitely a much softer look than rimming my eyes in black, but it still somehow gives that appearance of volume along the top lash line.

I’m not a fan of waterproof makeup as a rule, but this stuff comes off easily. I haven’t used the smudger on the end yet, though — I’ve always preferred a nice, clean line.

Do you ever wear colored liners? Which colors and brands are your favorite? This crayon liner is good, but I much prefer straight up pencils.

5 Responses to “What do you think of colored eyeliner?”

  1. Ally May 29, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    My unprofessional opinion is that you have to have the right skin tone and lashes to pull that off. And you have it. The olive skin tone and dark think lashes are perfect for colored liners. Pale skin, thin light lashes- beware, there are very few colors you can get away with (in some cases that includes dark, dark BLACK!) You know, not that I’m opinionated or anything. Hehe

  2. Corrine May 29, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I never touched eyeliners until I was well into my twenties licensed as a hairstylist and I had even grown up with a make up artist as a mom! My mom currently works for sephora and now I get to try all sorts of neat brands. Urban Decay is a great one for colored eyeliners. Another trick is only lining your top lid and never connect around the side. It makes your eyes look smaller, also don’t line the bottom just lightly add color and I smudge it lightly so it never looks heavily lined. I also line with eyeshadow so the possibilities are endless!

  3. Suburban Sweetheart May 29, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    I’ve never tried colored eyeliner, but now I sort of want to…!

  4. MegansBeadedDesigns May 30, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    I heart all shades of eyeliner. Sometimes I do all around color, sometimes black on top and color on the bottom, sometimes vice-versa. Metallic green/teal and dark red are a couple of my favs. 🙂

  5. Mosey June 14, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    It depends on the color, but lately I’m loving a darkish teal color, it really seems to bring out the green in my hazels!! 😀

I'd love to hear what you think!

