The one thing I’ll miss

26 May

I just posted the final Etsy listing from a group of vintage beauties I found last week at what I think might be the largest antique mall in northeast Indiana.

The photos from this batch of jewelry make me especially happy. I didn’t use the lightbox much and instead relied on beautiful sunshine.

And I realized: There is one, single, soul thing I will miss when I move out of this apartment in two weeks: my balcony.

I’m on the second floor of my apartment, and directly outside is a huge, beautiful tree that has provided many a perfect backdrop for Jac & Elsie photos. If I turn to the right, there’s the duck pond.

When friends come to visit, one of my favorite things to do is sit outside until the wee hours of the night, drinking, smoking cigars, laughing and catching up. So yes, most of my personal enjoyment of the balcony comes at night.

But oh! The photo backdrops in spring!

My almost-house is a ranch, and while there are some killer trees in the back, I’d have to stand on a ladder to get the leaves situated just so.

It’s not all photo sadness, though; the house has a fabulous sunroom with three enormous windows on three sides of it. I’ll be able to get sunshiny photos in the dead of winter without freezing my coolie off.

But still. I’ll miss my balcony.

One Response to “The one thing I’ll miss”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart May 29, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    All of the apartments in our complex have balconies except the ones of the first floor, which don’t even have an outdoor space or patio. Nathan & I, of course, are on the first floor. So many people don’t even USE their balconies! I wish they’d let us borrow it…

I'd love to hear what you think!

