Do we like makeup reviews? Also: Zoya

3 May

As you may have noticed, I’ve been trying to do some more makeup reviews on here. I love reading about new products, and I’m definitely a makeup and beauty product girl. Do we like reading posts like this??

(Note: This image below is a poll. I tried a different style poll than I normally use, and I don’t like how busy it is. I’ve tried changing it like three times, but in my “preview,” it looks the same. So don’t be fooled into thinking that’s just an image. It’s a poll for you, I swear!) (Unless this is just a white poll box on your screen. Then disregard this entire note. Thank you, the Mgmt.)

And while we’re talking reviews, I need to gush about a new nail polish I’ve tried. I got my first bottle of Zoya polish in my most recent Birchbox (yes, I’m obsessed with this program, I need a BA meeting … Like AA … but for Birchbox … ugh, nevermind) and was quite excited. I’ve seen this brand all over the interwebs (but strangely never in a store) and have always dug the pretty colors and matte finish.

My bottle is called Bevin (a Google “define” references Ernest Bevin, “foreign secretary of Britain 1945–51. He helped to establish NATO in 1949.” No idea what else a “bevin” couldbe …), and it’s a pretty, muted greenish blue. The literature on the polish — part of Zoya’s True Spring collection — points out how long-lasting Zoya is, and this made me roll my eyes. Yes, top coats (ahem, Sally Hansen as the best, ahem) make a manicure last longer, but polish lasting days on its own? Just doesn’t happen.

Well, I did my nails on Monday. I took these photos for Jac & Elsie last night. And my sans-top-coat manicure is still perfect.

I’m a believer.

3 Responses to “Do we like makeup reviews? Also: Zoya”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart May 3, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Lovely! I ordered Birchbox & Zoya’s new trip of polishes named after three fashion bloggers. It’s this weird jelly-style formula… and it did not chip AT ALL in three days. I was astounded!

  2. Ally May 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    I didn’t think I’d be interested in makeup reviews, but then I read about the mascara. And I’ve been obsessively thinking that I’m using the wrong mascara ever since. I’m going to buy new mascara. So yes, I answered yes. Bring on some more. 🙂

  3. Rachel (Totally Ovar It) May 3, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    I love your makeup review! I am totally buying the mascara tha CURLS lashes! Too cool! Can’t wait for more to come as I hope you will continue on this topic. And also, you have enabled my Birchbox addiction.

I'd love to hear what you think!

