New favorite mascara

2 May

Typically when it’s time to update my mascara, I go shopping in my mom’s makeup bag. The woman is a bargain shopper like no other, and when she sees certain things on sale or clearance, she buys them. I swear she perpetually has like three packages of mascara in her makeup bag, all with that little orange Target clearance sticker.

The last time I was home, I forgot to have this “shopping” experience, and my mascara has been wearing thin as of late. My modus operandi for the last 29 years (I really think I felt this way as an infant, too) has been, “Bargain shop, bargain shop!!” I’ve always been one to hit up Kohl’s or the mall when I’m bored. When I’d buy things, I’d never spend a lot, but I bought a lot.

Now, you know from previous blog posts that I’m currently on a “I understand why this beauty product is so dang expensive” kick.  Since I’ve opened Jac & Elsie, I don’t shop when I’m bored — I make jewelry. This has led to a shocking amout of money not  spent at department stores.

So I don’t feel badly that I’m choosing to spend more on products that are better. And I’m really thrilled with my new fancy pants mascara.

I hit up Sephora for the first time ever over the weekend, and I found a sales girl and instructed, “I need mascara. I like length. I don’t like volume. I don’t like waterproof.” (I always find voluminous formulas look clumpy, and waterproof mascara isn’t good for your lashes.)

She pulled out a box of They’re Real! Mascara, by Benefit Cosmetics. “It’s our best-selling one,” she said. “We never can keep it in. This is the last one we have.”

Yeeeeah, like I could say no to that.

The mascara doesn’t clump. It makes my lashes super long. And, somehow, it even curls them. What is this magic???

Do you have a fav mascara? This is one thing I’m hugely not brand loyal about. I don’t think I’ve ever used the same stuff twice.

3 Responses to “New favorite mascara”

  1. MegansBeadedDesigns May 2, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    OMG… MUST try! I’m always on the lookout for a “magic” mascara! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Corrine May 2, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    My mom has actually worked for Sephora for over 6 years now and I’m a licensed stylist. The biggest thing I like to teach people is you can buy name brand at nearly the exact same costs as the drugstores. Sephora has their own brand of mascara even that I’ve used and find a great quality as well as eyeshadow etc. All you need is a few staple pieces and you can add when needed without going bankrupt. Same with their skin care line. I hope that helps a little more 🙂

  3. Suburban Sweetheart May 2, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Oooh. I need to try this. I go back & forth between Blinc & Urban Decay.

I'd love to hear what you think!

