Songs for sobbing

17 Mar

One of my favorite bloggers, Single Girl Blogging, recently touched on a topic I knew I had to steal: songs that make you cry.

I’ve always felt like I’ve had a relationship with music. As a writer, lyrics can move me. As a poet, I like to dive into the way the artist has chosen words and rhythms to evoke an emotion.

When I was younger, every time I’d get a new CD, I’d sprawl on my bed with my CD headphones, and read through the liner notes as I listened to each and every song. To me, a CD hadn’t been “properly” listened to until I’d done this. I don’t do that anymore, but for special artists, I will still schedule a listening outside of the typical place (the car).

Since I place so much in music anyway, it’s not terribly surprising that songs can make me sob. One hasn’t in a long time, but a gal can never forget what brings on the tears. (The white-guy-with-guitar’ness of this list is mildly [completely] embarrassing.)

In no particular order, these are the songs that can make me cry:

“A Beautiful Mess,” Jason Mraz

“We Dance. We Sing. We Steal Things.” is the last CD I remember having a Headphone Listening Party with. This album came out right after a really hard breakup. The breakup was months (probably a year) in the making, and the night I chose to lay in bed and listen to this new CD was a few days after the split. It didn’t take long for me to start crying after the first few notes. By the line “The wait was so worth it” rolled around, I was flat out sobbing, snotting all over my poor pillow.

“Comfortable,” John Mayer

Most John Mayer breakup songs can bring a tear to my eye (I’m lookin’ at you, “Split Screen Sadness“), but this little ditty brings the waterworks the easiest.

The lyric simplicity touches me — it sounds like a journal entry set to guitar chords — but it’s the sentiment that I find so perfect. Jac’s First Love was a puppy love and a young love with promises of forever and all that stuff teenagers say. He moved away and found someone else, and when I first heard “Comfortable,” I think I was stunned that someone could have penned what I’d felt so perfectly. For a while, I would not listen to this with anyone because I was embarrassed at how it could reduce me to a blubbering fool.

“Goodbye My Lover,” James Blunt

This song never really reminded me of my past with an ex, but knowing the story of a man I dated and his ex … I saw them in Blunt’s music. And apparently, even though I was thrilled the two of them were no longer together, it was enough to get me crying.

I suppose it helps that the song is lovely.

“I Would Be Your Man,” The Odds

A friend put this song on a mixed tape he made for me. My eyes about bugged out of my head the first time I heard it. I listened to this and, similar to “Comfortable,” felt like it was written for Jac and The First Love. (He was around a while, on and off from the time we were 11 to 19.)

I have not heard this in years. You should see the look on my face as I type this and listen to the song. WOW, that was for an entirely different Jaclyn. I can’t fathom how this used to have the effect on me it once had.

Want to know something cool? Sure, I can put myself in a mood to get teary from any of these songs (OK, except for The Odds one), but I have to try. They don’t really do anything to me with a casual listening.

Man, it’s good to be in a good place.

What songs can (or used to) make you dissolve into a puddle of snot and tears?

3 Responses to “Songs for sobbing”

  1. Ally March 17, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    “The white-guy-with-guitar’ness of this list” – LOL
    Great stuff, though! I agree with the tears. I haven’t done a proper listening session for a while, but used to do the same thing with new music!

  2. Claire March 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    oh my, songs that make me cry. there are so many. i can remember break ups with bfriends during my 20s and even earlier where i would just listen to sad love songs and just cry. music seriously brings up emotions for me. like if i was experiencing something and heard a song, as soon as i hear the song again (even if it’s been like 20 years) i still feel those emotions. it’s kinda creepy!!!

    http://www.spinning-threads.blogspot.com

  3. Spinning Threads March 17, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    i love sad songs! they remind me of emotions i’ve had before. i’ve had some break-ups where i’d just listen to them and they always made me feel better.

    http://spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

