Ohhhhhh, London Fog, how I love you so

28 Feb

For the past week or so, I’ve been listening to a friend at work rant and rave about her new favorite drink, a London Fog. She discovered it when her cousin was Facebook stalking a girl from elementary school and drooling over all her travels (God, who hasn’t done this at some point or another?? Awkward ….).

The world-travler mentioned she had a London Fog in England, and the cousin promptly looked it up. The drink is:

Two parts Earl Gray tea

One part steamed milk

A shot of vanilla

My friend and I went to a café in town that specializes in tea and each ordered one. I got mine with a shot of ginger instead, and let me say: It tastes so good, I’m licking the insides of my mouth just to taste more. It tastes so good, I want to tongue kiss people so they know how amazing it is, but I don’t want them to drink mine. It smells so good, I’m all but neti potting it up.

This is my way of saying: Go to your nearest specialty tea café and get one! Now!!

Note: I just took the last sip. You are no longer invited to lick the inside of my mouth. All that taste is for me now. Go get your own.

6 Responses to “Ohhhhhh, London Fog, how I love you so”

  1. Mary February 28, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    you can get Earl Grey Tea Lattes at Starbucks, and they usually put a bit of vanilla in it (in this case, that’s what they mean when they ask if you want it sweetened or unsweetened)– I think when they were actively marketing them a few years ago they called it a London Fog. It’s funny that you post this now because I’ve kind of been living on them lately 🙂

  2. Miss Emily K. February 28, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    My sister LOVES this! She gets it at the coffee shop in CO right near her college…. earl grey is my favorite kind of tea…. so i’m sure i would like this!

  3. Big Hungry Gnomes Food Blog February 28, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    As a proud British citizen, I am a huge fan of Earl Grey tea. I’m not sure whether loose leaf Earl Grey tea is easily available in the US but it is particularly lovely when brewed in a nice teapot. Your London Fog, particularly the ginger syrup version, sounds lovely

  4. Meeling February 28, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Yummo!!

  5. Ally February 28, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    This sounds yummy, and now I don’t have time to go get one before my break is over at the coffee shop next door to my office…. grrrr. Next break!

  6. Stephanie February 29, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    I definitely want to try this.

    On a different note, I’m kind of impressed you successfully made a neti pot into a verb….Hahaha

I'd love to hear what you think!

