A poem from the past

17 Feb

I love digging up old poetry from years ago. It’s such a wonderful way to remember what you were feeling when.

I recently came across something I wrote back in the summer of 2009, and it’s such a sweet reminder as to where I was at that point. Which is surprising, as 2009 was The Never-ending Year of Hell for me.

Forgive my indulgence in sharing, but it’s not often I stumble upon a poem and think, “Wow, I don’t hate this.” There are some lines that require tweeking, but I figure I’ll leave it in all its original glory for your reading pleasure.

Happy Friday!

Well, this is a serendipitous find.

A Rainstorm Ramble
or
Laughter Like Messy

“I wish your brain
had a door,” I
say to you. “I want
to look inside.”
I bet I’d see
a painting by Jackson Pollock –
jumbled and messy
and perfect with
dollops of color and
wishing
everywhere,
even splatted across the bridge of your nose,
like,
“I always wanted to walk through a rainstorm
while the rain was frozen
in time.”

I see you,
this man, this boy, you’re not sure which,
peering
around each droplet
with a mixture
of curiosity, wonder and
pride. Because this is your imagination, baby,
where the monsters
under the bed like to eat
toes
because they taste like bubblegum and
scotch.

2 Responses to “A poem from the past”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart February 24, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Oh, man, I love this. And how brave of you to post your own poetry!

  2. Rachel February 28, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    You have such a way with words and phrasing!

I'd love to hear what you think!

