Can’t help falling in love

13 Feb

This Monday’s Northwest Mommy listicle is something I so adore to talk about — who doesn’t like remembering how they fell in love??

So in honor of being all schmoopsy and crap for Valentine’s day …

10 reasons I fell for the beau (in no particular order)

1) His reaction to seeing the bathroom of a woman who is not a mom full of rubber duckies the first time he came over. (Instead of running away screaming that a grown woman’s bathroom looked like a toddler decorated it, he came back to the couch, sat down, and says, “So … you like ducks.”)

2) During our first lunch together, he told me after the lunch, he was planning to run to a book store to read up on The Dark Tower series.

3) He has an immaculate dimple.

4) His friends and family swear he’s competitive. He swears he’s stubborn. Both are traits I loathe … and he does not have either of them with me, even after two-plus years.

5) His family is incredible.

6) The first time I went to his house, the books on the bookshelf in his family room woo’ed me.

7) He made the first move.

8) He has truly spectacularly enormous heart.

9) All the weird quirks I could be self-conscious about, he finds adorable: the duck thing, the fact that I still sleep with a stuffed animal, the fact that I dance more than any human has a right to dance.

10) He is incredibly open and giving with his affection. I never have to ask for it.

Click on the button and join in the fun, or leave me a comment with one or two reasons you fell for your dude.

10 Responses to “Can’t help falling in love”

  1. PhaseThreeOfLife February 13, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Aw, he is such a gem! ❤

  2. Ally February 13, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    You guys just make me go, “Awww-wwww!” 🙂
    I laughed out loud and his reaction to the ducks – priceless.
    I resisted dating my husband for MONTHS. I finally agreed to a “date” and he cooked for me. Swoon. The rest is history. 🙂

    • Jaclyn February 13, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      I LOVE that he had to chase you for so long ❤

  3. Ado February 13, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    This is a wonderful list and says as much about you as it does about him. (-:
    You are a great couple.
    Re. no. 4…yes, but have you tried playing tennis against him yet? I used to say this about my husband UNTIL we played a match – BLOOD SPORT – oh my! – and I won by a HAIR.
    I will never play him again.
    He’s that competitive (well, me too!) (-:

    • Jaclyn February 13, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

      Luckily, if we were to every play a sport against each other, I’d let him win before anything like that would happen. I’m not competitive _at all_. I’m also not much into sports. The most we’ve ever played against each other is Euchre! He can get grumpy, but it mainly just makes me laugh.

  4. Sarah @ The Will to See February 13, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Soon after meeting my husband I realized that I would need to learn to play golf to spend time with him on the weekends. I asked him to help me learn and he did with so much patience. Some day I will beat him.
    We just enjoy spending time together, even after almost 12 years of marriage.

  5. Stasha February 14, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    So sweet! I like rubber duckies too 🙂
    I love that he made the first move and is a book ‘worm’. You two will grow old together in happiness. Happy Valentine’s Jaclyn.

  6. jacqui February 14, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    Great list! Number one made me laugh. Hope you both have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

    • Audrey Neilson February 15, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Great list! Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

  7. Suburban Sweetheart February 24, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Nathan doesn’t mind my stuffed animal, either. He swears that he thinks it’s cute!

I'd love to hear what you think!

