Gossip Girl’s 100th episode: That hair! Ugh.

3 Feb

I don’t typically take to my blog for television reactions, but I finally have been able to sit down and watch “Gossip Girl’s” 100th Royal Wedding Extravaganza and … well, I just have to share some of the thoughts rolling around in my head:

* First. And. Foremost. Most importantly. Holy cow, how did this happen … Tell me how every single hairdo in the Wedding of the Century made the character look like a drowned rat? Blair, Serena, the queen … they all looked positively filty. How does that happen when you’re in what is the equivalent of Prince William and Kate Middleton’s union?? Case in point:

Trim your dang dead ends, Princess! (On a side note, bravo on one of my favorite wedding dresses in TV/movie history!)

Her beehive was knotty, her ends were nasty. This could have been smooth and sleek and lovely. Alas ... trash. And Lonely Boy, ditch the styling oil, would you?

It does not appear the queen is important enough to merit a photo, but let’s just say for royalty, her ‘do made even Blair and Serena’s look put-together.

* A major spoiler here: Why, oh why, did the writers feel it was necessary to out Gossip Girl? I mean, Georgina makes perfect sense, but I love not knowing who it is. The reveal is completely unnecessary; at this point, GG is just a plot device to advance the story. Throwing out GG’s identity seems unnecessary, especially given how much we, as viewers, haven’t been wondering lately. That story line hasn’t been touched much since last season, even with Serena’s ploy to take GG down.

* So are we to believe that Dan and Blair are now going to give it a go? After he knows what she feels for Chuck, and that only bad things can happen? Ohhh, to be young and stupid.

* That was a Catholic wedding, right? And the Catholics allow annulments if a marriage was never consummated, correct? So Blair and Louis can have an annulment? Or is that not an option because the wedding was consummated plenty before the nuptials?

I sound like I’m bitching, but it’s only in an effort to find someone to gab about this with. I’ve loved “Gossip Girl” since season one. I don’t believe in guilty pleasures — if you love something, own it, baby — but this is definitely the most soap opera-y thing I enjoy.

Did you watch? Did their hair bother anyone else??? (Seriously, out of every issue raised here, the hair thing pisses me off the most.)

3 Responses to “Gossip Girl’s 100th episode: That hair! Ugh.”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart February 3, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Shit. I wish I hadn’t read that spoiler. I just started Season One!

    • Jaclyn February 3, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

      For what it’s worth … it won’t matter. Near the beginning there will be a storyline where they try to figure out who Gossip Girl is, but aside from that, it seriously is wildly unimportant. Also … enjoy!! It’s so much fun to watch!!!

  2. tara February 4, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    blair’s hair looks awful. also, dan + blair makes me want to throw up! still, i loved the episode! what louis was saying during their dance literally made me say ‘oh sh*t!’ out loud! looking forward to next week’s episode! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

