Guest post with The Arizona Russums

26 Jan

Hello, all! I’d like to introduce Jen, a guest blogger from The Arizona Russums. She’s from, of course Arizona, and we took some time to compare what our winters are like, her with all that sunshine and me with all this Midwestern crap.

While you’re at it, be sure to check out my guest column at Jen’s blog.

Enjoy!

* * *

Hi y’all! I’m Jen and I blog over at The Arizona Russums. On my blog you will find bits about my faith, my marriage, my grad school research and our adventures since moving to Arizona. Mainly, I  hope my blog is a place where women are encouraged to love Jesus more deeply.

Today was ugly outside. Mostly cloudy all day and a few drops of rain tonight. It reminded me of my days growing up in Seattle. Gross. Wet. Cold. Gray. I’m just not into it…

Which is why I will be forever thankful that my husband and I packed up immediately after our honeymoon two summers ago and trekked down to Arizona to live in valley of the sun. We love it here. Today was an exception in the weather. It really is sunny here almost every. Single. Day. And when you’ve lived with clouds for 80 percent of your life, sunshine is never a bad thing.

About a week or two after arriving to Phoenix, Micah (the hubs) looked at me one day and said, “You know we are never moving back to Seattle, right?” It was a 110 degrees outside, and I don’t even think we had made a single friend yet in our new city, but I was completely on board. “That’s fine with me,” I quickly replied.

Yes, we have brutally hot summers, and all the locals complain, but Micah and I just spend every second we can floating in our pool. But do you want to know what really makes summer worth it? Winter.

This is Micah and me on the day we bought our Christmas tree in December!

Have you ever experienced an Arizona winter? There are hardly words for it. “Amazing” just doesn’t do it justice. In November, December, January and February, it’s 65 to 75 degrees every day. Sun shining. Crisp mornings that call for a jacket. Warm afternoons that are perfect for sitting outside to read or going for a run (in shorts!) through the neighborhood. You can grill steaks in the backyard 12 months a year here.

Even today, on our lone cloudy winter day, I went running in shorts and a tank top. A brutal winter day here means the temperature is in the low 60s. There were a couple of times last year that it actually got into the 20s overnight, and it was 36 degrees on my morning commute. I wore one of my now-foreign winter coats to school and was lugging it around by lunchtimesince it had warmed up to almost 60 degrees.

And that, friends, is how we do winter in Arizona. All blue skies and sunshine. And I love every minute of it.

This is how much I love Arizona winters!

Please stop by. I’d love to meet you!

Blog // Facebook // Twitter

* * *

Oh man, I am a jealous, Midwestern Panda. What’s winter like in your neck of the woods?

4 Responses to “Guest post with The Arizona Russums”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart January 26, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Love that photo of you & your husband in coordinating yellows!

    I confess, Arizona weather sounds absolutely miserable to me. I’m a cold weather, snow, & rain girl all the way through. To each her own!

  2. Ally January 26, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Deep sigh. I shall live vicariously through you and your blog… as I continue living here in Seattle, under gray clouds, lots of wet, and a rare ice storm. All this while dreaming of the places we’d like to live: 1- Maui, 2 – SoCal/AZ/Reno (I’d take any. SoCal taxes are too high. Reno gets cold, but is sunny 320+ days a year. AZ gets a bit too hot in summer. But I’d take any of the three over this.) Some day, we’re going to make it happen.

  3. PhaseThreeOfLife January 26, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Totally. Hubby and I have been here for almost 8 years now. We just can’t bring ourselves to leave.

  4. Missa Lee January 29, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Well I am one of the complaining natives. I’ve been in AZ for 27 years, and 115 is just not human. However, it’s January and i wore shorts and a tank top to a family picnic today….. Maybe I just need to be a snowbird 😉

I'd love to hear what you think!

