Things I’d like to see happen before I die

23 Jan

Totally loving on Ally’s idea for Northwest Mommy’s Listicle this Monday: 10 things I’d like to see happen before I die.

I would like to see:

1) Gays have the right to marry. Not civilly union each other, but wed. With all the same rights as straight couples.

2) My parents go on a vacation by themselves. Australia would be great, as they’ve wanted to go forever. When I was little, they told me they’d go for their 25th anniversary. But Joey threw a bit of a wrench in those plans. In my life, Mom and Dad have been on two (TWO) vacations together. The last time they went, I was in  junior high or high school. And this year, they celebrate their 34th anniversary. So they’re a bit late to celebrate the silver anniversary down under.

3) A cure for autism.

4) A Jac & Elsie item on the front page of Etsy. (It’s the little things, man.)

5) A book on a bookshelf by moi. And not one of those self-published deals, either.

6) A graphic novel on a bookshelf by the beau. And, again, not one of those self-published deals, either.

7) Jac in Harry Potter World.

8) Jac in Italy.

9) Jac meeting Stephen King.

10) Jac in Andimeshk, Iran. It’s the town where my dad was born and grew up. In terms of “most unlikely to happen,” this one ties with No. 3. God, how sad — I’ll write and publish a book before I get to step foot in Iran. So true, though. (He has stories of dynamite fishing in the Persian Gulf. That is … he’d throw sticks of dynamite in the water, and he and his dad would gather the fish. Can you imagine throwing an explosive in Iranian waters????

What’s something you want to see happen before you die?

 

8 Responses to “Things I’d like to see happen before I die”

  1. Ally January 23, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Explosives in Iranian water? Um, no! Love your list though, good things in there. I hope your parents get that vacation some day.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart January 23, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Man, I can’t imagine that fishing tactic would work out too well today! What a story. it’s so sad to think that you will likely not be able to see the place where your family has such strong ties.

    I’d like to see a book on a bookshelf by moi, my boyfriend with a full Coast Guard career under his belt, my mother with a boyfriend, a cure for cancer, same-sex marriage legalized, a trip to Greece for me, and, um… man, I feel so unoriginal. I can’t think of anything else right now! Cool writing prompt, though.

  3. nesha January 23, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    There are some really nice goals here, i’d like to see you accomplish them, you can deifnitely accomplish them if you really truly try again and again!

  4. Ado January 23, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Hmm, I wonder if you and Suburban Sweetie are friends ’cause you both want a lot of the same things! (-:
    My fave thing in this list was your sweet wish for your mother.

  5. Missa Lee January 23, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Must go to Italy. It is A M A Z I N G. I want to go back soon.

  6. Bestfoodies.com January 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    I hope you get to see those two books and more…hard bound…on your bookshelf!

  7. northwestmommy January 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    What lovely wishes, I hope you get all yours and travel to Iran. It is breathtaking. I want to go back and play polo with their ladies team one day…
    I love how you and your shop support the cause and contribute to #3 coming true. Fingers crossed!

  8. Stephanie January 24, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I love you and your list!!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

