10 strange/cool things about being a reporter

9 Jan

Totally digging the topic of this week’s Northwest Mommy Listicle: 10 odd things you’ve had to do for a job. I think I’ll keep this in the journalism family.

Let me present to you …

Top 10 strange/awesome things that have happened to me while working for a newspaper (in no particular order)

  1. A little Amish boy threw a tomato at me and hit me square in the ass.
  2. I got wee bit tipsy while reporting on a whiskey tasting at liquor store. (In my defense, I had plans to go with my friends already when an editor asked me, “We’re short stories. Is there anything food-related you can do by next week?” Well, actually …
  3. I discovered I was allergic to long-haired cats as the old lady I was interviewing in her home rambled on and on. By the time I left, I’m pretty sure I looked like I had spent the previous 3 1/2 days sobbing.

    I'm itchy just looking at this thing. And yet, all I want to do is stick my face in his fluffy little chest.

  4. I attended a speech given by the Dalai Lama.  Speaker stories are, as a rule, boring as hell, but this was easily the coolest thing I’ve ever gotten to do for my job.

    He's so cute, I want to put him in my pocket.

  5. I judged a chili cookoff where I met a man who remains to this day my favorite source ever. I was ecstatically proud of him for making it onto last season’s Master Chef.
  6. I interviewed Caroll Spinney. (If you’re not sure who that is, you’re likely familiar with the characters he voices, this guy and this guy. Spinney was a commencement speaker at a local university. Half of the speech was given by the green guy.)
  7. I made an entire gingerbread house in the breakroom. The press guys kept following their noses to me, asking what on earth I was doing.
  8. I dressed up as Ron Weasley and interviewed folks in line for the midnight showing of “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.” (I was not counting on a woman telling me she was in line in memory of her son, who was ill and died before he could finish reading the books. She had read the entirety of “Half-Blood Prince” to him at his grave. It’s not awesome to be dressed in drag in a red curly wig when you hear this story.)
  9. A coworker and I had a photographer shoot our “portfolio,” and we brought the images into a local modeling agency. (We tied this into a story on a local woman getting on “America’s Next Top Model.”) Among the agency’s critique of my photos: I had vagina ear and hot dog neck.
  10. Every day, I am paid to be nosy and to write. For a curious gal who loves to write, that’s beyond cool.

* * *

Update: OK, I’m getting a few requests to explain:

Vagina ear: In this pic, my head is completely parallel to the ground. The hole in my ear was very obvious. The convo went something like this:

Modeling agency lady: The hole in your ear in this picture is very promanent. We don’t want this. It kind of looks like …
My coworker: A vagina?
MAL: I didn’t say that!
Us: You Kind of didn’t have to.

Hot dog neck: My back was to the camera, and I was turned around to face it. The wrinkles in my neck formed from turning around? Hot dog neck.

9 Responses to “10 strange/cool things about being a reporter”

  1. Ally January 9, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    VAGINA EAR??!! I’m glad nothing was in my mouth just now, or I’d have spit it out all over my computer. I’ve seen lots of pictures of you in your jewelry shots, and NEVER ONCE thought that, or that anything was wrong with your ears, for that matter.

    The Dalai Lama? Really? I’m kinda jealous right now!

    And I really want to touch that cat right now! Cute!

  2. Suburban Sweetheart January 9, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    What on EARTH are vagina ear & hot dog neck?!?!

    I really love this list.

  3. Sarcasm Goddess January 9, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Vagina ear? VAGINA EAR?!! Explain, please. Hotdog neck seems pretty obvious – where you mistake someone’s neck for a hotdog and start eating it. But vagina ear…

  4. Jackie (@notwifezilla) January 9, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Thanks for the update on the vagina ear!
    Being able to hear the Dalai Lama speak must have been an amazing opportunity.

  5. northwestmommy January 9, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    I made a rule for myself to read the listicles in an order they are linked up but I have been looking at Dalai Lama all afternoon, dying of curiosity . Awesome list Jac! You are such a great writer and have done some super interesting things! not to mention your talent with making pretty things and generosity with the Autism charity.

  6. deborah l quinn January 10, 2012 at 12:26 am #

    do you suppose the dalai lama thought you had vagina ear? do you suppose he knows what a vajayjay even is? hmm. the DL is amazing, isn’t he? Went to hear him speak with a friend, thinking “yeah yeah, whatever” and came away thinking “wow wow amazing.” Lucky you.

  7. paul January 10, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Very cool list. The Dalia Lama must have been incredible.

  8. Stephanie January 10, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I like this!!! Kinda makes me wanna watch that video for #9 again. haha

  9. Audrey January 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Wow! being a reporter sounds so interesting and fun! I bet you are never bored with it

I'd love to hear what you think!

