Real Books, 1; Kindle, 0

29 Dec

I thought I’d keep occasional track on how the Kindle reading is going. I just finished “Neither Here Nor There” and am currently working on “Benjamin Franklin: An American Life,” both via Real Books. This point against Kindle isn’t actually something I experienced, but I’m counting it just the same.

The beau is off work all week (insert junior high-era Luckeeeeeeeee! here) and went to bed much later than I did last night, about 3 a.m., because he was very engrossed in rereading one of his all-time favorite books, “The Fellowship of the Ring,” the first in “The Lord of the Rings” series.

He last read the book when he was 13. He is now 38, reading even the same copy. He remembers that he read the book on vacation, but he’s not sure where — Gatlinburg, Tenn., maybe? But periodically, he’s seeing his 13-year-old self’s thumb smudges along the side of the book. He sees them when he turns the page and realizes he had been holding the book in exactly the same position he had held it 25 years ago, and his tiny teenage thumb print was being covered by his larger adult thumb print.

You’ll never have that sense of reminiscing with a Kindle. Never.

5 Responses to “Real Books, 1; Kindle, 0”

  1. Rachel @ Totally Ovar It December 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Someone was kind enough to give me a Kindle for Hannukah. I’ve even downloaded a book on it. And then read 2 paper books in the mean time. It’s going to be a tough transition. I love the way a new book smells, or seeing my notes in the margins. The thumbprints on my Kindle screen just aren’t the same.

  2. Ally December 29, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Well that’s not going to help me want to make the change! LOL I simply love real books!

  3. Ally December 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I might add that I find it incredibly cool that he is re-reading that book! (And I have the week off, too!)

  4. Missa Lee December 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I had the same apprehensions before I bought my nook. I like having my books on my bookshelf, lending them to people, seeing what I’ve read right in front of me. But, I was spending a small fortune on books. So I got the nook, and I have to say I love it. For certain things. I still occasionally read a “real” book, but when I travel it is invaluable. When I was on my honeymoon, I bought 4 books while waiting for my place for about $20, and didn’t have to lug around 4 books the whole trip. Also, it’s so nice to be able to lay on the beach, or in bed for that matter, hands free, just reading. The ease really is amazing.

  5. Jen December 31, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I so love this sweet story. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

