Well, it happened. We all knew it would.

27 Dec

I have been anti e-reader since they debuted.

If you’ve been any sort of a regular Snap, Crackle, Reader, you know I like books. I like the smell of them and the feel of them on my finger tips. I like looking at them lined up on my shelf and knowing that one day when I get to be a real adult with a home (and not a one-bedroom apartment), I’ll have a library that I will surely live in.

I like putting books through the first line test when I’m at a book store, and I like pressing a newly finished and beloved book to my chest and holding it there, like I might be able to absorb some of the awesome via osmosis.

E-readers take away all that stuff. They break down reading to its most basic raison d’être: reading. None of that other extra stuff is included.

A few Christmases ago, my cousin got a Kindle, and she brought it to my parents’. She showed me and, I hated myself for it, but, I loved it. Holy awesome.

I made a pact with myself then and there that I would never own an ereader. What would be come of my books?!

Naturally … I now own a Kindle. It was one of the strangest feelings I’ve ever had upon receiving a gift: a mix of wanting to both place it very delicately in the trash can and hug it to myself while shouting “Thank you thank you thank you!”

I can’t get over the screen. I can’t get over the screen savers, images full of old fashioned pen tips or letterpress type. I want to print them out and hang them on my face.

I have no idea how I’m going to feel when I get my very first book on there. How can I be expected to grow my library when I read a book electronically??? So I started last night with a short story, Sloane Crosley’s Kindle essay “Up the Down Volcano.”

Next thing you know, I’ll be text messaging. Ew.

8 Responses to “Well, it happened. We all knew it would.”

  1. AmberRecker December 27, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I refused to jump on the e-reader wagon too. I love books- always have and always will, but I received a Kindle for Christmas and I’ve already read 2 books. I love it. I was pleasantly surprised how easy it is to read- literally, easy on the eyes. And I love the e-lending program at our library.

  2. Dana December 27, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I’ll never be through with paper books because most of my reading happens in the bathtub. Unless e-readers become waterproof, paper will always have a place in my life.
    I will say I wish they had been around when we were in school. The back aches I could have avoided by having all my books on a tablet instead of in my bookbag!

  3. Ally December 27, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I’m still refusing, but they do have their attraction 🙂

  4. Vicki December 27, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I love my Kindle … Its so much easier to travel with then a ton of books & it saves space on my shelves … I just love it. I’ve had a Kindle since almost the very beginning and it was the best Christmas gift I was ever given!!!!

    PS: texting isn’t so bad either ………

  5. frangipanroberts December 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I agree about the magic of real books… but then I want a Kindle… or a Kobo. I can’t decide! I won’t give up my books though.

  6. Suburban Sweetheart December 27, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Enjoy. 🙂

  7. PhaseThreeOfLife December 27, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    I don’t think it has to be one or the other. An e-reader might be a chance to try out a book you ordinarily wouldn’t want to spend the full price on. But you should still occasionally buy the ones you really love.

    (Also, I predict you’ll be texting by the end of 2012.) xo!

  8. Rachel (Totally Ovar It) December 28, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Holy Kindle! I completely feel you. I received a Kindle Touch a week ago. It stayed in the box until Monday. And now I’m like a book whore, wondering why the library doesn’t have infinite e-copies of what I want to read. Oy! WTH have I gotten myself into? Without even asking for it. I look forward to hearing how you’re coping.

I'd love to hear what you think!

