Meet Dec. sponsor: Sooner Surrender

20 Dec

Today, I have the great pleasure of introducing you to Amber, the gal behind Sooner Surrender. She took some time to let me get nosy, so without further ado: Meet Amber!

How long have you been blogging? Why did you start?  I guess I started blogging in … 2004 on LiveJournal (where I still have an account that I use for more … private posting). I remember I briefly used a site while I was at IU Bloomington, but I only made a few entries before my best friend Ryan introduced me to LJ by sending me links of the people she read, so I thought I’d join up too. I’ve met a lot of friends on there, but I recently wanted to have a wider following of people, who just read about my life.

Meet Amber.

Tell us about you! I live in northwest Indiana, close to Gary, and about 45 to 60 minutes from Chicago, depending on traffic of course. I’m living with my boyfriend Kalen and his mom, after living with my mom, stepdad Jack, and sister Ashley (plus our dog Otis and cat Charlie). My dad died when I was 14, 12 years ago, from a heart attack.

My family members are basically my best friends. I love getting together with them and spending time with them. I have two little cousins that I adore. Alan is 10, and he has Down syndrome and is autistic. Nicky is 7, and he’s an evil genius.  I loooove music (Hanson, the Beatles, John Lennon), and aside from classic rock, I listen to Christian music (mainly rock or pop type bands), which would be Kalen’s influence on me. We’re both religious (I’m Lutheran, he’s Christian), and that’s part of why our relationship works so well. God is a big part of my life, even if that might not always show.

I also love tattoos. I have 14 total, which sort of make up bigger ones together and want to get more so badly. And I miss my Monroe and nose piercings.

It’s 2:30 p.m. on a Thursday. Where are you most likely to be found? Prior to losing my job (long story short: my old boss is a douche), I’d have been sitting at a desk preparing court work. Now, I’m either working at Kohl’s (part-time/seasonal and hoping to stay on after the holiday season), or at home reading, crocheting, napping or watching TV. Pretty boring life.

How would you describe what 2011 has been like for you? I would say it’s been up and down. I left a job, got fired from the one I thought was a good thing, filed bankruptcy because of medical bills from when I found out I was a type 2 diabetic, and joined Weight Watchers again. I also moved out of my house for the first time, and had a few losses (my great grandpa died at the age of 96 in November, and Kalen’s grandpa died in August), and I also got to meet Kalen’s father. They’d had a falling out a few years ago, and before his dad moved to Texas they got back in touch.

Amber with her main man, Kalen

One year from today, what do you hope to have achieved? I hope I’ve gone back to school and found a steady job, even if only part-time. I also hope that we’re more financially stable.

Books or movies? It depends, but in general I loooooove to read.

CD or radio? iPod.

Heels or flats? Definitely flats, preferably flip flops. I hate to wear shoes.

Eye liner or lipstick? I rarely wear any makeup, but eye liner would be the winner of this.

One Response to “Meet Dec. sponsor: Sooner Surrender”

  1. bobbi December 21, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    she looks like a real nice girl.

I'd love to hear what you think!

