Fill in the blank Friday: The schmoopsy version

9 Dec

This week’s questions celebrate Lauren’s four-year anniversary with her beau. My two-year one is on the 19th, so I totally dig it in that utterly schmoopsy kind of way.

Happy day to you, Lauren!

Readers, pick a blank and fill it in in the comments. Happy weekending!

Love is easy. There’s something to be said for “Anything worth having is worth fighting for,” but really, it shouldn’t be work.

Being in love feels like comfort. It feels like home.

My favorite quote about love is “To love another person is to see the face of God.” ~Victor Hugo

The most important thing in a relationship is the golden rule. If you treat the other person how you expect to be treated, you’re pretty good to go. It can keep us from being selfish — if we’re each worried about the other person, we don’t have to worry about ourselves because we know the other person’s got our back.

A deal-breaker for me in a relationships is ooh, this depends on where we are in a relationship. I can’t see me ever wanting to date someone in the military or police force, so that’d be a deal-breaker up front. If I’m already in a relationship with someone and he cheats on me, that’s a deal-breaker; broken trust is too hard to fix. The only exception I can come up with is a Miranda/Steve kind of infidelity, a la “Sex and the City.” That may still be a deal-breaker, but that kind of one-time-thing is indicative of a problem that possibly can be fixed.

The way I show love in my relationship is oh wow, so many ways. I think “I love you” should be said every day. I like to be thoughtful, too. I leave Jeff notes sometimes on his pillow. I made him breakfast in bed last weekend. That sort of thing.

4 Responses to “Fill in the blank Friday: The schmoopsy version”

  1. Jeff Bonty December 9, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    The quote from Victor Hugo is dead on.

    Good thoughts here from you Sista J!

    J Bon

  2. Ivonne December 9, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    “Love is easy. There’s something to be said for “Anything worth having is worth fighting for,” but really, it shouldn’t be work.”

    JESUS! THIS x 1000000000. A lot of people don’t get it either.

  3. Ally December 9, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    What an adorable picture! Sounds to me like you’ve got the “love” thing figured out quite nicely! 🙂

  4. Claire December 11, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    love is amazing. it’s so funny how it changes though. it starts out as passion sometimes but then it turns into something a little more “boring” but in a good way. love takes work and needs to be nurtured. the passion often fluctuates, but it’s the everyday that seems to really be meaningful. and to be happy everyday with one person and to cherish each other, accept the weaknesses and enjoy the small things is the best thing ever!

    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

