P!nk vs. Katy Perry: Who does it better?

5 Dec

I like P!nk. She’s not a No. 1 favorite songstress or anything, but for the most part, I dig her music.

My favorite song I’ve ever heard of hers is off her 2006 album, “I’m Not Dead,” “The One That Got Away.” I love her rasp. I love how smoky-bar it sounds. How stripped. How acoustic. Such a simple set-up allowed her voice to really shine, which it doesn’t always do in the over-produced crap she puts out on the radio.

And, I love the sentiment of “The One That Got Away.” Something about lost love songs always get to me. Maybe it’s that they  put me in mind of a younger me, the gal who lamented over one boy or another. And, of course, who isn’t a sucker for a boy with guitar and a drink in his hand?

Katy Perry’s new song has the same title. The sentiment is of course the same, but it’s sadder than P!nk’s song is, which is instead more reminiscent. It made me cry the first time I heard it, whereas P!nk’s makes me smile.

I prefer P!nk’s, but maybe not by a lot. Since P!nk never released hers, there is no video. The Katy Perry video, meanwhile, is haunting and beautiful, which definitely adds to the song.

Which do you prefer?

2 Responses to “P!nk vs. Katy Perry: Who does it better?”

  1. Liz December 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    You know I’m a HUGH Pink fan. I like all of her music. I think she should be much bigger than she is. I also love the raspy tone in her voice. But got to give this one to Katy Perry. I know the video has everything to do with it.

  2. Ally December 5, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Hmmmm, I can get into both at different times. I do really like the rawness of Pink’s voice, and yet I really like the Katy Perry song, too. (And I tried not to pay attention to the video!)

I'd love to hear what you think!

