My sophisticated pallet: On wine and cheese

2 Dec

I can’t do red wines. I try, desperately, in part because I think it looks sophisticated. But dry wines make me want to scrape over my tongue with a rake.

I’m a fan of Rieslings, and especially of Gewürztraminer, a Riesling-esque white that isn’t quite as sweet as a Riesling.

One week from today, the beau and I are having some friends over for a wine and cheese party. I know the two flavors are supposed to compliment one another, and I’ve never tried wine-and-cheese pairings in a way that is supposed to make the flavor of either pop. So we figured we’d try. (Note: This sounds much more sophisticated than it actually is. Seriously, we’ll probably just get wine drunk and cheese fat, which I personally find to be one of the best drunks and fats to be.)

I found a pretty extensive wine/cheese pairing list I figure the beau and I will print out over the next week and use as a guide at the grocery store.

Naturally, I wanted to see what kind of cheeses go well with Riesling. What kind of fancy fair would I get to enjoy with my sweet white? Camembert? Buffalo mozzarella? Zamarano? (Confession: I have no idea what Zamarano is. I just picked it off the list ’cause it sounded cool.)

Not quite. Riesling, apparently goes quite well with the following cheeses:

  • Cheshire
  • Colby
  • Cotija
  • Edam
  • Gouda
  • Kefalotiri
  • Monterey Jack
  • Panela

Do you see the problem? Every single cheese on that list falls in one of two categories: “I’ve never heard of it” or “I’d put that on a sub sandwich.”

Très sophistiquée.

(For what it’s worth, the Gewürztraminer pairings look much more nose-in-the-air … ’cause you gotta at least PRETEND to be high class for a glass, right?)

What are your favorite wines?

5 Responses to “My sophisticated pallet: On wine and cheese”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart December 2, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    “High class for a glass,” haha, I love that. I also HATE red wines. But I DO love cotilla cheese. I also think manchego goes great with white wines!

    • Jaclyn December 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      I have no idea what cotilla or manchego are, but I want to eat them both. This is going to be a learning experience!

  2. Megan Coffie December 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I don’t drink wine but Gouda is one of my favorite cheeses! You should serve it for sure.

  3. Ally December 2, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Definitely use the Gouda! I just recently discovered it (in the last year or so) and I love it. To make you feel better – when I first started drinking wine – Rieslings only. I graduated to Chardonnay, added in a few Pinot Grigios and 2 to 2-1/2 years ago developed a taste for red. (couldn’t stand the taste or feel before!) I now PREFER red to any other. Cabernets are my favorite, but I like blends and Merlots, and the occasional Pinot Noir, too. So maybe they’ll grow on you eventually. 🙂

  4. Jen December 5, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Here’s a cute idea you might like!

    http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/entertaining/wine-cheese-tasting-dfor-rock-ur-party-160621

I'd love to hear what you think!

