Happy holiday weekending

27 Nov

Friday morning, I woke up a little early. I sipped a cup of decaf coffee, and I threw my hair in a pony tail. By 9 a.m., my mom and I were in the car, bound for crazy black Friday deals.

I haven’t been black Friday shopping with my mom in years, and it was lovely. The stores were crowded, but not in that “I want to mace you” way. We got through the lines quickly, and we bought some awesome gifts.

We put the tree up after Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt and uncle’s, much to Joey’s glee. When we got home, we got out all the wrapping paper and put on Christmas music. Mom left for the grocery store, Dad and the beau took a stogie outside to put lights on the bushes and I wrapped for an hour with Helper Joey.

He tore off tape and placed it where I directed on a folded corner of silver candy cane paper. He hummed with the Christmas tunes and even sung along with me on a few. His “ho ho ho” to my “Who wouldn’t go?” sounded suspiciously like Tim the Toolman Taylor.

And that’s the major reason why I love the holidays; they provide one of the very few “normal” traditions Joey can get behind. I love waking up at my parents’ house on Christmas day, not because of the gifts or the promise of family coming over later that afternoon (though that’s wonderful, too), but because Joey will sit on the floor with us around the tree and open gifts. He doesn’t care what’s inside, but his love of tearing off wrapping paper is one of the most “normal” things about him.

I hope everyone had an awesome holiday weekend. Christmas is in less than a month (!!!) so I’m officially entrenched in my favoritest time of the year. So long, non-Christmas socks; I’ll see you in 2012. Hello, steaming cups of hot chocolate with a few sprinkles of red pepper for funsies. See ya later, wild flowers. Nice to see you again, Pluto stuffed animal with the jingle collar and plush reindeer antlers.

Happy days to you, my friend!

2 Responses to “Happy holiday weekending”

  1. Ally November 27, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    This post made me smile with holiday cheer! I’m having a hard time getting motivated – this is the kind of thing I need to read. 🙂

  2. Stephanie November 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    i don’t know how I missed this post the other day, but lovely!! I love this time of the year too!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

