A very crafty Halloween

31 Oct

This Halloween, I found myself being much craftier than I normally am:

  • For one, I painted a pumpkin, which I haven’t done since high school.
  • I made the beau’s Halloween costume.
  • I made some spiked hot apple cider from scratch.

I always prefer painting pumpkins to carving because they last so much longer. Plus, I find it way easier.

And, after painting or drawing so many Donalds in my life, I think I’ve gotten pretty good!

It might say “Quack quack, bitches” on the other side …

So Thursday night, the beau gets home with a bolt of blue gingham fabric. He had planned to kind of toga-style it and use some safety pins to get all Dorothy up on Halloween’s ass.

To which I said, “Dude, I have a sewing machine. Would you like me to make you a dress?”

I didn’t know if I’d be able to figure out how to flare the skirt  (I did) or how I’d form the top bib part of the dress (not too hard) but for doing this on the fly, sans pattern, I don’t think it turned out too shabbily!

Gotta love that he’s standing there like a prison inmate.

My favorite part of the costume? That lace detailing on the bottom of the skirt. I wish I’d thought to put some on his athletic socks to turn them into little bobby socks.

My third bit of getting-it-done, domestic goddess style, was the phenomenal spiked apple cider. I used this allrecipes.com recipe, and I doubled it to make 12 servings. I didn’t count how many we got, but suffice it to say the giant spaghetti sauce pan I made it in had nothing but some swollen cinnamon sticks in it by the end of the night.

Hot Spiked Cider

  • 2 quarts water
  • 6 orange spice tea bags
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 4 cups apple cider
  • 3 cups light rum (I used spiced rum — it was a good choice)
  • 8 cinnamon sticks
  • 6 half teaspoons butter

Pour water into a large saucepan, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, and toss in the orange spice tea bags. Cover and let steep 5 minutes. Remove tea bags, and stir in sugar, apple cider, rum and 4 of the cinnamon sticks. Heat just to steaming — do not boil.

Put 1/2 teaspoon butter into mug before ladling in the cider. Stir until butter melts. 

Cheers, happy Snap Crackle readers, and happy Halloween from Jac the Flap(per)!

5 Responses to “A very crafty Halloween”

  1. KLZ October 31, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Happy Halloween you crafty fool!

  2. Suburban Sweetheart October 31, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    LOVE both of these costumes. You’re so fun!

  3. Ally October 31, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I am SO impressed with his Dorothy dress! And you look faaabulous, dah-ling!

  4. sarah October 31, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    you went all out! great job on the dorothy costume! and you look beautiful!

  5. Jayme (RandomBlogette) November 1, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    So awesome! I just love the Dorothy costume. I really need to get a sewing machine. I bet if I actually tried I could do some fun things with it. You look beautiful as a flapper!

    That Donald Duck pumpkin is awesome.

I'd love to hear what you think!

