Fill-in-the-Blank Friday, the remember-when edition

28 Oct

Happy Friday, all! I hope we all have some fantastic weekend plans ahead of us. The beau and I are hosting a Halloween party tomorrow night, so hopefully I remember to get some pics so I can share next week.

As always, this Fill-in-the-Blank Friday brought to you by the little things we do. Pick a blank and fill it in, in the comments, won’t you??

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a veterinarian and/or a ballerina when I grew up.

As an adult, my dream job would be writer/editor for a magazine.

When I was younger, I wanted to be just like I actually don’t remember looking at anyone and saying, “I wanna be like her.” Maybe Carla, my cousin? She was tough and beautiful and good at basketball.

The childhood Halloween costume that I remember most was when I was a dude, in seventh grade. I probably remember it the most because it has the funniest costume. See? Right before my dad snapped the pic, he was like “Oh, here!” and handed me the beer. Awesome.

My favorite childhood toy was Barbies, which I played with until like sixth grade. Are books a toy? Because I loved (and love) books, too.

The time I got into the biggest amount of trouble when I was a kid was when I went exploring too far and too long along the creek in the backyard with my neighborhood friends. We always wandered along it, but we got into our heads on day that we’d go FURTHER THAN EVER BEFORE. We did. It did a lot of winding, so when we wandered out of the woods, we weren’t really that far from home, but we’d been gone a long time. Most of our parents were freaked out and/or livid. Totally worth it, though. We had a blast.

I get inspiration from good writers, magazines, art (especially paintings), whenever I talk to my friends Brett or Erin.

4 Responses to “Fill-in-the-Blank Friday, the remember-when edition”

  1. anne's-âneries October 28, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    That picture is amazing! Books and barbies were my faves too… Although possibly dolls over barbies xx

  2. Biscuit October 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    That costume is hilarious!!! I love that your dad handed you a beer! That’s totally something my dad would have done and then laughed until he cried… He always made himself laugh– big time! Haha!

    Happy Friday!
    MuffinLovesBiscuit

  3. Ally October 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Ha! We had a creek and woods in the “backyard” when I was a kid. We spent HOURS playing/exploring down there! Love that costume – hilarious.

  4. A Young Black Woman November 1, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    When I was a kid, I wanted to be a singer and/or actress when I grew up.

    As an adult, my dream job would be a reporter for a top 5 market TV station and an occasional column author…and an author.

    The time I got into the biggest amount of trouble when I was a kid was when I found a sex book and brought it with me to a sleepover…the girl’s mom found it and told my mother. GOOD LORD–it was a crazy night. O_O I was like….9.

I'd love to hear what you think!

