Fill in the Blank Friday

21 Oct

Before I get into this week’s edition of Fill in the Blank Friday with the little things we do, I have to share a few super cool things!

First off check out the wonderful Jac & Elsie feature over at The Mommy Times. Karen showed some love to these rockin’ upcycled sparkle earrings at Jac & Elsie.

Second, it would appear I didn’t move everything over from Women’s Jewelry to Jac & Elsie quick enough. My little experimental Etsy shop got its first sale: this beautiful silver book locket. (It came with such a sweet story: The buyer is giving the locket to her mother for her birthday, and she’s putting a black and white photo of the two of them inside. I love it! If you’d like to steal the idea, you can find more Jac & Elsie lockets here.)

I finally figured out what I’m going to do with Women’s Jewelry — it’s going to become the hub for my made-to-order 1423 bridesmaid line.

And now, without further ado …

Nothing says fall like hot apple cider around a bonfire while I’m all cozied up in jeans, a sweatshirt and scarf. Mmmmm.

My favorite autumnal tradition is dressing up for Halloween.

My favorite fall treat is hot apple cider. (Sorry to sound like a broken record, but I really like cider!)

Fall makes me think of shitty weather because I live in the Midwest and dread the coming of January and February all year long. I love fall in and off itself — the weather, the leaf colors, the CIDER — but I can’t help but focus on what it means: that winter is coming. I’m a total freeze baby, and wind causes me rage. Seriously, when an ice cold wind whips at me, I actually get angry because I want it to stop and there’s no way to push it away. I’m sane, I swear …

My go-to outfit in the fall is jeans and a sweatshirt with a cami underneath so I can forgo a bra. Yay for tiny tatas.

My favorite fall holiday is  surprisingly Thanksgiving. Despite all the Halloween love, nothing beats the way a house smells on Thanksgiving morning. My mom is a beast in the kitchen. The beau and I are spending that long weekend at my parents’, and I can’t wait to eat (even though this year the holiday will be at my aunt’s) and see my grandparents, who will be visiting from Vegas.

Pick a blank and fill it in in the comments, s’il vous plait, and a happy Friday to all! Any hot weekend plans? I’ve got a double date tonight at my favorite restaurant,  and I get to see a friend who moved out of town a year or so ago on Sunday. And, oh yes: sleeping in. Lots and lots of sleeping in.

3 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart October 21, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    What I wouldn’t give to go braless…

  2. Ally October 21, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    My favorite fall treat is anything pumpkin! (I was an October baby, it must be in my genes – lol) I totally agree with you about fall – I love it by itself, but dread that it means winter is coming. Like Dread with a capital D. I don’t know how you survive in the Mid-West. Although I’d take some snow over the endless cold, gray, rain we get in the winter.
    Mmmmm, Thanksgiving kitchen smells. Sounds like you have a great family Thanksgiving coming up.
    (And like Suburban Sweetheart, what I wouldn’t give to go braless! – haha)

  3. northwestmommy October 21, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    So what are you going to dress up as this year?

I'd love to hear what you think!

