What should I be for Halloween?

11 Oct

I can’t decide what I want to be for Halloween. I adore playing dress up, and I’m all about crazy makeup and wigs.

The (bald) beau and I were gonna do Charlie Brown and Lucy, but he felt Charlie Brown was too easy. He wasย Mr. Clean last year, and I don’t think he wants to write it in this year.

Previous adult costumes include:

  • Egyptian princess

I think I was going for "regal" but instead achieved "slightly constipated."

  • Fortune teller (I made myself one of these things, and all of them said some version of “Do this completely reasonable thing or you will die.”)
  • Flapper
  • Marilyn Monroe (I cannot stress enough how terrifying I look as a blond)
  • Cowgirl

Wilma is petting my horse, and Michelle is wearing my flapper costume. When I was Marilyn, it was totally her costume, but I canNOT find a pic of it.

It’s tempting to revisit one of these (flapper!) but I want something new! A friend is trying to talk me into Wonder Woman, buuuut … well, I don’t know that I can quite pull off a corset in public.

A pin-up girl could be fun, as I totally dig those. (One of the gals with more clothes on instead of less, of course. Maybe the pilot? Or just straight up Betty Page?) I have a witch costume I haven’t worn since high school (I was a witch probably three or four times in my youth), and I’ve a red wig with built-in horns. Hmmm, devil could be easy, but is it too cliche?

Help!

4 Responses to “What should I be for Halloween?”

  1. Ally October 11, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Devil might be cliche but it is still one of my favorites of my own. I think it’s the red fishnet stockings that I wear over black hose with the short red skirt with frayed bottom – sexy! ๐Ÿ™‚ And of course all the top half things, too – the horns, etc. Those pictures are all cute! Witches are always fun. I’m not much help, am I? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Jayme-The Random Blogette October 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    I wish that you had the picture of you as Marilyn!! I would love to see that. I am having a hard time figuring out what I want to be as well. We usually go all out but not this year. I like the idea of sharing costumes with friends. You could totally pull off Wonder Women!!

  3. Suburban Sweetheart October 11, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I LOVE Halloween & really think you need to needle the beau on the Charlie Brown & Lucy idea. It’s so good! Perfect for you two!

    Nate will be deployed for Halloween this year, & I’ll be working a conference, so I guess there won’t be any costumes for me. Devastating, as I love them. Hope you come up with something fun!

  4. Claire October 12, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    you’ve had some pretty amazing costumes! i think charlie brown and lucy is hilarious!!! i saw that the most popular couple costume is prince will and duchess kate at their wedding. i would have no idea what to dress as. but Princess Sparkles wants to be a mermaid so i’m dressing Pigtails up as a fish!

    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

