I couldn’t have put it better, on breast cancer

5 Oct

Mexyista’s most recent blog post is one that I applaud her for posting. In it, she speaks out against breast cancer branding, and her thoughts? I agree with them 110 percent.

So read it.

When you’re done, check out this story in this month’s Marie Claire. The article is based on a similar subject, looking at how sad it is that so many companies make a buck off putting a pink ribbon on their packaging when, in truth, many of those companies don’t donate a cent back to any cancer organization.

For a second, I sometimes feel like I’m speaking out against my aunt Nancy, who died of breast cancer in 2005. But you know what? Cancer research is cancer research, and to keep the awareness and fundraising more generalized seems a much better use of resources.  October is breast cancer awareness month. Why not just “cancer awareness”?

(And just because I feel the need to clarify this after this little rant: The Cancer Services fundraisers up at Jaclyn1423 benefit a group that helps those with any kind of cancer, and you can customize them with any color — to support any cancer — you like.)

Purple is the awareness color for general cancer.

Added: So after Suburban Sweetheart mentioned in the comments that lung cancer is black, I noticed that my color code (click on the above image and see the final pic) says lung cancer is white. So I did a Google search. The first thing I came up with said lung cancer was pearl. The second said it was clear. No wonder other cancers aren’t as well-branded — even the groups themselves can’t agree on a universal color!

4 Responses to “I couldn’t have put it better, on breast cancer”

  1. Missa Lee October 5, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Thanks for the support. I was at Wal-Mart last night and saw a gun safe with a pink ribbon on it. Really?! It’s amazing how far it goes.
    I’m sure your aunt Nancy would want anyone suffering from cancer to receive help, not just those with the same type of cancer as her. And thanks for sharing the Marie Claire article.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart October 5, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Amen. I posted on this awhile back, too: http://www.suburbansweetheart.com/2009/05/breast-cancer-awareness-why-i-dont-walk.html I almost have a viscerally negative reaction to all things light pink & “for a cure.” I donate to the American Cancer Society. I trust them to determine where the money is most needed. And the color of lung cancer, which my father died of? Is black. Hardly lends itself to cutesy marketing.

  3. Ally October 5, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I’ll post the same thing I did over at Mexyista:

    3 relatives’ lives lost. 1 cancer survivor friend. 1 current relative battle. 5 different cancers – throat cancer, leukemia, melanoma, breast cancer and lymphoma.

    I couldn’t agree with her post more!

    Not that I don’t support cancer research, but the pink thing has become like the latest Hallmark Holiday. In the past I’ve supported LIVESTRONG – because I’ve actually used their cancer support services when dealing with our relatives’ diseases, and I felt like I was giving something back.

  4. PhaseThreeOfLife October 6, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Love her blog! Thanks for sharing. And I agree 100 percent that we need more emphasis on cancer research in general and not just on one specific cancer. Personally, I think childhood cancers need WAY more attention. The thought of ever potentially having to deal with my son having cancer breaks my heart in a million pieces. I can think of few things that would be more stressful and heartwrenching for a family to deal with.

I'd love to hear what you think!

