Some unrelated thoughts on a Friday

30 Sep

* It was a raspberry mocha day, but I wanted to switch it up. So I got a caramel mocha. Probably not that big of a switch, but holy hell, it’s delicious.

* Dried apricots are the best thing you could put in a scone.

No, I did not make them myself, but I found this uber sweet blog post (click on the pic to go there) with a recipe for them.

* Most of my clothes come from Kohls, Penney’s, Old Navy and NY & Company. I like trendy things that are affordable. I’m not much into Express or Banana Republic or other trendy stores I deem too rick for my blood. Today, however, I’m wearing a pair of Banana pants. I found them at a local Good Will. They’re actually lined. I don’t think I’ve ever owned a pair of lined pants. Also, they fit like a glove. I still don’t think I’d pay full price for them — they were $8 for me — but I can appreciate the quality difference.

I don't think these are the exact pant, but they look pretty much like this.

* I’m wearing an adult friendship bracelet I made. I think this bugger is sturdy enough to introduce to the shop! I’m way excited about it. It has a tiny chevron pattern and is made out of that colored thread you used to make friendship bracelets when you were in junior high. But it has a bit of chain, and a real clasp, so you don’t have to tie a knot and just wait for it to fall off.

* I’ve been wanting to start a monthly e-mail newsletter. I figure I’ll send my first one (which will very  much be a trial run) after the bracelets get posted. If you’d like to be on the list (I swear I won’t spam you), let me know! Be sure to include your e-mail address with the comment. Or is this a silly idea? Do the blog and Facebook and Twitter suffice? (Man, when I put it like that …)

* My $10 off gift certificate goes away after today! Have you gotten yours?

* I’m dying to see The Help. I think it will be a Sunday solo matinee.

* I WILL finish “A Game of Thrones” this weekend. I have a ridiculous little 1960s beach read next, because when you finish a 700+ page book, you need to follow that with dribble, even if said 700+ page book is so flippin’ amazing you want to dig through the pages until you find a Narnia-like hole that will take you to Winterfell.

Peter Dinklage plays (and won an Emmy for!!!) Tyrion Lannister. He's amazing, and one of the main reasons the TV show is ((gasp!)) better than the book. Yes, the book rocks, but the author, George R.R. Martin, also writes the show. So obviously, it's reeeeally well done.

Your turn. Tell me something unrelated.

 

 

7 Responses to “Some unrelated thoughts on a Friday”

  1. Amber September 30, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I’d like to be on the newsletter! amber.marie.piers@gmail.com

    Are you finishing the first in the series? Or are you finishing the 5th one? I’m on the 4th. LOVE those books!

    • Jaclyn September 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      I’m on “A Game of Thrones,” which is the first book. I don’t want to ruin the show, so I figure I’ll read the rest after respective seasons 🙂

  2. Ally September 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Caramel mochas – is there anything better?
    Of course I want in on the newsletter. twonormalmoms@gmail.com
    I want to see the bracelets!
    I better go get my certificate…

    Last night I had a dream I was feeding my husband’s father’s farm animals. Only it was my husband’s father, it was some actor I’d seen on tv, and my husband’s father never had any animal except a dog yeeeeaaars ago. Strange. Is that random enough?? LOL

    • Jaclyn September 30, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Why yes, that is exactly random enough! Don’t you wish you knew how on earth your subconscious puts stuff like that together??

  3. PhaseThreeOfLife September 30, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Add me to the newsletter, please!

    I’m reading The Help right now. It’s SO good.

    M&Ms are to cookies what dried apricots are to scones.

  4. Suburban Sweetheart September 30, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Nathan has been OBSESSING over Game of Thrones – the book & the show both – and I’ve promised to give them a try as soon as I finish (um, start) a YA book I’m going to read so I can participate in a book club. I’m glad to hear someone besides him likes them – I trust your judgment!

  5. Missa Lee September 30, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Amen to where you shop- I just can’t bring myself to spend more than $20 on one item of clothing… and let’s be honest the max is usually $10. But every once and a while I will treat myself and buy a dress or something at a “real” store, and the quality is worth it, sometimes. 😉

I'd love to hear what you think!

