‘You follow ol’ Rafiki. He know the way’

29 Sep

Last night, a 28-year-old woman and a 37-year-old man went to see “The Lion King” in the movie theater.

And holy hell, it was just as good this time around on the big screen as it was the first time, when I was 12. (The beau and I agreed a long time ago that our age difference — which I completely love — was the grossest when I was 12 and he was 22.)

And it solidified a thought I’d had a few times before: I miss real animation. That computer stuff Pixar does is cool, but I don’t think it’s possible to beat the beauty of a hand-drawn African savanna.

My other solidified realization? I don’t like 3-D movies, especially when the extra dimension is added after the movie was already made. It doesn’t add anything except a pair of annoying glasses, and the vibrant colors seem darker. The beau and I actually left one movie theater that was only showing the flick in 3-D to see if another theater in town would let us watch it the ol’-fashioned away. Alas, we were forced into 3-D.

Rafiki is probably my favorite Disney character ever. I had this exact image printed out and tacked on my wall to hide the rip in the corner of my Lion King poster, which was adult Simba and Nala nuzzling each other.

It couldn’t ruin the experience, though. “The Lion King” was the cool thing in the sixth grade. I remember something like three Lion King-related songs in the talent show that year, and I was so jealous that I wasn’t up there singing that I’m going to be a mighty king (so enemies beware).

I admit it: I had a crush on Simba when I was little. I thought he had pretty hair.

I think I need to get a VCR. I have all the old school Disney (where “old school” is defined as “The Lion King” and anything before it) VHS tapes, and I’m itching to watch them.

I figure plenty of parents took their kids, but did any other adults go see this re-release just for themselves? What other flick do you want Disney to put back in the theater? Mine is “Sleeping Beauty.” That is  handsdown the most beautiful   cartoon I’ve ever seen, and I don’t remember ever seeing it in the theater. (Which makes sense, as IMDB tells me it’s from 1959. Wow. I had no idea it was that old.)

8 Responses to “‘You follow ol’ Rafiki. He know the way’”

  1. KLZ September 29, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    How embarrassing is this – I had a crush on young Simba because he was voiced by JTT who I thought was dreamy.

    • Jaclyn September 29, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Oh man, JTT was The Hotness. My bestie had this black and white “serious” photo of him from like Tigerbeat up in her room, and I’d just drool over him at sleepovers.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart September 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I want to see “Lion King” in theaters, but I really despise 3D – it gives me a headache &, as you said, doesn’t add much. I’d love to see “The Little Mermaid” in theaters – but not in 3D!

  3. Stephanie September 29, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    JTT was TOTALLY hot and yes, I did have his poster (I think two of them) hanging in my room. I was always sad when Simba grew up in the movie because then it wasn’t JTT’s voice anymore hahaha….now THAT is pathetic!

    And my favorite was always The Little Mermaid, although I liked the music from Beauty and the Beast better.

  4. Ally September 29, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    We really might have been separated at birth… except that I’m older than you. 🙂 But the Lion King was one of the few movies I could stand my (very young) son watching over and over, because I secretly loved it. I haven’t seen it in 3D, and I’m not sure I will – I’d just as soon watch the DVD at home (which replaced the VHS we originally had).

  5. PhaseThreeOfLife September 29, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Mike and I were in a store the other day… we were lost and couldn’t find something.. and we both busted out the “Follow Rafiki” line at the same time. What a classic line.

    I have always loved the Lion King and always will. The end.

  6. Missa Lee September 29, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    No shame in that- I want to see it!

  7. A Young Black Woman October 3, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Ahh, I saw it this weekend. The 3D was definitely unnecessary, but I actually cried–oh well, I was a punk, lol. I want them to put Beauty and the Beast in theaters again…even though I know I’ll be crying my eyes out. I had THE biggest crush on Beast as a human, he was the epitome of hot to me.

I'd love to hear what you think!

