My favorite bits of summer

26 Sep

I can’t help it: I like linkups, especially when I get a topic that makes me go, “Oooo, OK!”

Today I’m linked up with The Good Life, and you get to read about my summer highlights.

In no particular order:

1. Playing bridesmaid for my bestie Erin and her wife, Jen. The dress was amazing, the city was amazing, the wedding was amazing.

2. Traverse City with the beau. I would happily do that as a long weekend every summer. The best part: the state park. Hiking, beaches, townie biker bar with pizza. Yes, yes, and yesssss.

3. Bachelorette party in Indy. In November, I’m playing bridesmaid in Phoenix, and all the gals gathered from something like five different states to celebrate my friend Amanda.

4. My parents came to visit me over July 4! That never happens. On the trip, they met the beau’s parents. Ooooh, fancy, I know! AND Joey behaved. Win/win!

5. As my parents were packing up to leave, Amanda (the bachelorette) walked in. She kept me from getting too weepy when the folks left, and we got to being girly and hang out by the pool. My friends live pretty much everywhere but where I am, so when I get to see them, it’s always my favorite.

6. New York to see Lindsay. I hadn’t seen her in something like two years, and it was the easiest trip of my life. Totally last minute with a ridiculously reasonably priced plane ticket.  We shopped, we ate, we Coney Island’d.

7. Helping with Steph’s grad party in Cinci. I babysat for this family starting when I was 12, and now the parents and kids are the family I get to choose. Steph is No. 3 of four to graduate high school. I always help Mitzi (Steph’s mom) with the parties. At this one, one of my besties Brett came too. The crazy stuff was remembering when he was at MY high school graduation 10 years earlier … and Steph was there, and she was 8.

I also got to see my bestie, another Steph, while at the grad party. It was her son William's first time swimming. I just saw them this past weekend. The kid has the greatest cheeks ever. I lied ... his thighs might even trump the cheeks.

8. Steph came to visit me this summer, too. It was, I think, the first time she good a lil road trip solo. That was a super sweet visit.

That’s only eight, but considering all the ground and people I covered, I’m satisfied leaving it at that.

7 Responses to “My favorite bits of summer”

  1. Missa Lee September 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    That yellow bikini is soooo flippin cute! Where did you get it?!

    • Jaclyn September 26, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

      Thank you! It’s from Target, from a year ago like now. I like getting suits as cheap as possible, so I usually get them early fall. Actually, this was bought in two different states! I loved the top, but the bottoms weren’t at any of the Targets in my city in my size. So I called my mom, and she found them!

      • Missa Lee September 26, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

        Thanks for the tip! I was just looking at Target but I’m not quite where I want to be body wise to buy swimsuits, but with my honeymoon in Tahiti lurking, I need to find some! It is the perfect time though now since everything swim wear is being clearanced out!

  2. northwestmommy September 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Your looks like such a happy and fun summer. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Ally September 26, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    SO glad you linked up! What a fun summer filled with good friends. And I LOVE your dress as a bridesmaid up in #1 – sexy, sassy, cute!

  4. jacqui September 26, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    It looks like you had a fun and extremely busy summer! You don’t stay in one place too long, do you? 😉

  5. Cookie's Mom September 27, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Looks like it was fun! That is one cute chubby baby!

I'd love to hear what you think!

