Quoted and noted: On breast cancer

23 Sep

“I was like, ‘I don’t know, should I talk about it or what?’ How many things could I have? I’m black, then lesbian. I can’t be the poster child for everything … At least with the LGBT issues we get a parade, we get a float, it’s a party. [But] I was real hesitant about doing this, because I hate walking. I got a lot of [cancer] walks coming up.” ~ Wanda Sykes, on Ellen

Check out the E News video on the Huffington Post here.

2 Responses to “Quoted and noted: On breast cancer”

  1. Ally September 23, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I love Wanda Sykes – had no idea about the cancer, but I love her candor and that she keeps her sense of humor without treating a very serious subject lightly. Good for her for taking control and doing what felt right to her!

  2. Missa Lee September 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    This made me laugh because my fiance and I always joke about how breast cancer is the “cool” cancer. There are SOOO many walks for breast cancer… meanwhile, when I tried to find a walk for the kind of cancer that my step-mother died of, it was impossible. I know that breast cancer affects a lot of people, but I think because it is so easy to market it gets more press than pretty much any other type of cancer. I mean, how can you compete with pink and boobs? Catch phrases like “save the tatas” and “i heart boobs” are hard to beat. I’m always looking for HepC causes, but livers and yellow are not quite the same….. I need a prettier disease 😉

I'd love to hear what you think!

