On being grateful

21 Sep

The social media have made very certain to make sure I know today is World Gratitude Day.

OK, I’ll take the bait.

Things I am thankful for:

* The most obvious thing? My beau. I’m currently working on a little project for me that requires me to remember past loves. In that remembering, my knowledge that my man is amazing is somehow even further cemented. Yesterday, the realization was that he has never once gaslighted me. (There’s one particular ex who could have been the inspiration for that article.)

* My friends. Last week, I had a mini “Wow, no one likes me here” moment. A few hours later, I talked to my friend Brett on the phone. We haven’t talked to each other in months (that’s just how we roll — minimal contact, but when we do talk/hangout, it’s like high school all over again), and I get to see his band rock out at an outdoor Cinci music fest soon. Just hearing his voice and feeling like Normal Jac Who Has Friends again made the oogies go away.

* Last and not least: I’m grateful I’m not an ass and that I don’t associate with asses. A few things have happened in the past two days that made me go WOW. Yesterday, I was in a gas station with a friend. A woman popped her head in with her two kids. All I heard her say was, “I’m not asking him. He won’t understand me. I’m not gonna understand what he says. I’m not asking him,” and she proceeded to screech at her children to get out of the gas station. The “him” in question was the gas station attendant, a man who appeared to be Indian or Middle Eastern. As my friend paid for her purchase, he said, “Thanks, have a good day.” It was not in broken English or said with an accent. This dude was American. And that asshat acted like it would be so, so wrong for her to have to speak to someone who might have an accent? And that woman has children? To teach her asshat ways? I was shaking for a few minutes after that, I was so livid.  Second, on the drive to work today, I heard some shouting. It took a few minutes to realize it was coming from two cars behind me. The driver had his hand stuck out with window, making that “Come ON!” motion, and at stop lights, he’d stick his head out the window to shout at the woman driving behind me, who was directly in front of him. Sweet vindication when I saw a policeman following closely behind him. I hope he pulled the jag-off over.

So much for ending on a sweet note, huh? But yeah, I’m grateful and stuff.

3 Responses to “On being grateful”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart September 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Oh, that last one makes me SO ANGRY. If I were that man, I would’ve looked that jerk of a woman straight in the eye & said, in perfectly unbroken English, “Is there anything I can help you with?”

  2. Ally September 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Friends like that are priceless. You don’t have to be in frequent contact, but when you do talk, it’s just like old times. That is real friendship!

  3. Missa Lee September 22, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Ha- loved the lesson on gaslighting! I need to teach my man that, and myself too probably! I don’t think he does it intentionally, and well, hell, I know I am a little crazy sometimes. Ok a lot of crazy sometimes. And that’s why I love him, because he can tell me when I’m being crazy. But it is an interesting concept!

    The last part reminds me of that show that aired for what seemed like a few weeks last summer I think; It was called “what would you do” and set people up in social situations like that to see what they would do. One instance was a southern bakery where the man refused to serve a muslim woman. It was astonishing to me that most of the other people in the shop that witnessed it didn’t do a damn thing. Being a loud mouth myself, I know I would have put the dude in his place, but at the very least I would have walked out and not given him my business. But these people just wanted their pie more than civility. So amen to that, not being an ass or associating with them!

I'd love to hear what you think!

