Guest post: Newspaper nails!

20 Sep

I’m insanely excited about this week’s guest post by September sponsor Downtown Housewife. The journalist in me DEFINITELY wants to try this out. 

See what you think!

Hello!

My name is Megan and I write a blog over at Downtown Housewife. I’m super excited to share one of my favorite DIY’s with you: newsprint fingernails. After you get done reading your newspaper, save a page or two. It makes great nail art.

Supplies needed:

  1. Vodka or rubbing alcohol
  2. Newspaper, torn into nail-size pieces
  3. Cotton balls
  4. Light colored polish
  5. Clear polish or topcoat

Step 1Paint nails with light colored polish and let dry.

Step 2Dip nail and newspaper in vodka. Place newspaper on top of nail. Hold a cotton ball on top of the finger nail and newspaper for 30 seconds. Pull off the newspaper to reveal the print.

Step 3Finish with a topcoat.

I hope you will try this easy and super cute DIY!  Special thanks to Jaclyn for allowing me to do a guest post.

What do you think, guys? Gonna give it a try? If you do, shoot me a pic! I’d love to see the results.

4 Responses to “Guest post: Newspaper nails!”

  1. Joyce September 20, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Those are WAY better instructions than the ones I used when I first tried this. Makes me want to do it again!

  2. Ally September 20, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    What a fun idea!

  3. Suburban Sweetheart September 20, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    This is SO COOL. Thanks for the tutorial! I almost never paint my nails, but I’m pretty interested in giving this a try.

  4. Stephanie September 20, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I vote we do this on Saturday!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

