Fill in the Blank Friday

2 Sep

(It must be said: This is my fav of the Fill in the Blank Friday buttons the little things we do has creates so far.)

One thing that is completely superfluous but I could never give up is I always thought it was Coke, but it might be going away. Maybe. Unlikely. Maybe just one or two a week?

When the guy giving me a pedicure tells me I have nice legs and asks if I run (nope) … and then says, “But you have nice legs! You jog?” (Nope.) “Then what do you do?” He nods to the book in my hand. “You just read?” (Yup, pretty much.) makes me feel awkward. (For what it’s worth, it was only half awkward. The other half was kind of hilarious, due in part to his broken English.)

I can’t make money without a job. (Sometimes, it’s helpful to remind oneself of this!)

Cheesy poofs are my favorite snack.

Lately I’ve been in an odd little rut lately. Worried about lots of things that, separately, aren’t an issue. Piled on top of one another, it’s a bit much to handle.

If at first you don’t succeed try to accomplish what you want to accomplish in a totally different way. To quote one Albert Einstein:

“Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Fall is something I’m looking forward to, even though I don’t want to look forward to it. Because I know what comes after, and in the Midwest, that blows.

5 Responses to “Fill in the Blank Friday”

  1. Sara September 2, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I do the same thing with my worries. I pile the little ones up until it’s one big worry and I can’t sleep. Try to relax and take them one at a time. 🙂

  2. katmcdknits September 2, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    I love how you speak your answers as if you are sitting with me at the table. Nice list. Living in Hot Atlanta GA makes one wish for Winter. I love Winter. Maybe because I am starting to experience hot flashes…it’s like summer 365 days a year. Ugh.

  3. Rachel - Season With Love September 2, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow, super awkward pedicure! I thought saying No to all the upsells (“you want massage? callous removal? parafin dip?”) was bad but that definitely takes the cake!

  4. Luisa Rodriguez September 3, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Why is Coke so good??? 😛 I can’t seem to live without it.
    I got here through The Little Things We Do.

    Maybe you could come visit me too sometime..
    Have a nice weekend!

    mustbeliberating.blogspot.com

  5. patience September 3, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    god that guy who asked about your legs makes me think of where i live in general. everyone is sooo gosh darn active and healthy. everyone is like “what do you do?” and they don’t mean your job, they want to know what outdoor activities and exercise you do.

    blech…lol

I'd love to hear what you think!

