The good & the ugly of playing salesgirl at Taste of the Arts

29 Aug

Saturday, Jaclyn1423 set up shop along Main Street with Henna Moon. I love sharing vending space when I set up at various festivals and events; it makes the time pass so much quicker during lulls, and it’s nice to have an extra set of eyes around.

The Taste of the Arts fest was pretty spectacular. I’ll get the ugly out of the way because I don’t want it to cloud the fact that the day, as a whole, rocked (even if “the ugly” does make me want to punch a bitch).

I had my first item stolen. RIP little pink heart on the gorgeous vintage chain.

My guess? Some asshole teen girl got sticky fingers. May she wear it all the time and feel like someone gorgeous, like Marilyn Monroe or Kiera Knightly, but may it turn her face into the likes of Ed Asner to everyone else. Ho.

Anyway, the rest of the festival? Totally outstanding. The cool stuff worth reporting:

  • There was an adorable hipster couple with coordinating sunglasses who wandered in. She had on this flowy white, shabby-chic tank, white with vintage-looking flowers all over it. In fact, the pattern kind of looked exactly like this:

Nevermind that they looked incredible on her bone-straight, down-to-their dark hair. Those kinds of sales are super fun.

  • A young man stepped under the tent and asked if I had anything in a vial. I had just sold one little glass bottle full of peridot, and I was wearing the other. I told myself, “I love this necklace, but if someone wants to buy it off me, I’ll sell it.” Well, that’s not quite what he was looking for. He just wanted a vial — so he could put his girlfriend’s ashes in there. He proceeded to tell me a story so unbelievable it could only be true: He was in the service and hadn’t seen her for two years. About three months ago, on the day he was set to come back, he called her to give her an ETA. She answered her phone from the hospital. At 8 that morning, her car had been hit by a drunk driver. Hours later, before he got to the hospital, she died of a brain aneurysm. I’m sending him the empty vial I have left this week.

  • As I was packing up, a fellow on his bicycle started to look at my small stand of bracelets. “I want a man bracelet,” he told me. “How thick?” “Not too thick, not too thin. Like this,” and he pointed to a multi-chain bracelet made of white vintage chain. He said he wanted it in turquoise. I had just put away a turquoise necklace, and I dug it out.  His eyes got bit. “YES. That’s the exact stone I want.” So I got a custom order for my first piece of man jewelry. I’m pretty stoked.

Hope you had a fantastic weekend, too!

4 Responses to “The good & the ugly of playing salesgirl at Taste of the Arts”

  1. Jayme (RandomBlogette) August 29, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Except for the sticky-fingers a-hole I am so glad that everything else went so well. That is quite an amazing and heartbreaking story regrading the girlfriend.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart August 29, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Wow, sounds like you had quite a time. The story of that man & his girlfriend… is just devastating. I’m so glad you’re able to help him out.

  3. PhaseThreeOfLife August 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Got chills from the story about the girlfriend.

  4. Ally August 30, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Sorry about the stolen necklace – but the rest sounds amazing!
    Wow, the vial guy broke my heart. You are so sweet to send him your empty one.

I'd love to hear what you think!

