Super easy hair floof tutorial

24 Aug

A few weekends ago, I went to an  out-of-town bridal shower and bachelorette party. In an effort to bring minimal clothing, I wore the same dress to both. It was pretty simple, a cotton number I found at Kohl’s. However, it fit like a glove, so the fact that it was white cotton tank on top and khaki linen on bottom didn’t deter me.

However, I desperately needed to jazz it up. So I made myself an uber long red necklace, and — the kicker — a bright red hair fascinator.

Is it a little ghetto? Of course. There are right ways to do them, and that’s why you pay other people. When you make it yourself? No one can tell if there’s not a proper little piece of felt on the back of the flower. See?

Now, to start off with, you’ll need:

  • A flower. I went to JoAnn’s and found a stem with the above bloom, which I adored. Most blooms on fake flowers will pop right off.
  • Glue. I suggest E6000, the greatest glue known to man. It can glue paper to fabric to metal to glass, but not your finger to your face.

  • Clips. You can find them in any jewelry supply aisle at a craft store. I used these:
From here, I did the very difficult task of, well, gluing the clip to the flower. My only tip here is to sneak a toothpick into the clip so it doesn’t glue itself shut.
I wish I could say it was more difficult then that, however … voila! A perfect way to jazz up an otherwise dull outfit.
5 Responses to “Super easy hair floof tutorial”

  1. Stephanie August 24, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Umm…I absolutely adore. And I totally want that necklace!!

  2. Jen August 24, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Sometimes the best ideas are the simplest! The flower turned out wonderful and with the necklace, it was just what that dress needed. 🙂

  3. Ally August 24, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    I LOVE this! I have an afternoon wedding to go to this weekend – maybe I’ll give it a try!

  4. Suburban Sweetheart August 24, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    NIT ghetto. You look so pretty!

  5. Danielle August 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    I really like it, I think it looks great. Especially paired with the necklace. I love your choice of flower.

I'd love to hear what you think!

