Auction No. 14: Colosseum watercolor

10 Aug

Meet Angela Mapes Turner of Auburn, Ind. This is her second time creating for Joey’s Auction. This year, she offers up an 8×10-inch watercalled called “Colosseo, Roma,” which is matted in an 11×14-inch frame.

The image is inspired by a photo of the Colosseum I took during a recent vacation in Rome. This was my second trip there, and what struck me about the Colosseum is the way it appears to be different colors depending on the light and the time of day. Even on this return trip, it literally stopped me in my tracks when I turned a corner and saw it.

The piece is created on lightly textured watercolor paper using professional-quality watercolor paints; it’s matted under a pre-cut off-white matte and stabilized with a white matboard on the back. The painting is ready to frame and hang and was created with acid-free, high-quality materials to last a lifetime — or several.

Find some more of Angie’s work on her blog, A Small Collection.

This auction will be open through the morning of Aug. 12. Want more details about Joey’s Auction? Click here.

Remember, if you’d like to donate to Joey’s Auction 2011 without bidding on any items, you can do so through PayPal to e-mail address Jaclyn1423@yahoo.com. You can also mail me a check — just leave a comment telling me you’re interested, and I’ll e-mail you my address.

9 Responses to “Auction No. 14: Colosseum watercolor”

  1. Angie August 10, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Woo-hoo 🙂

  2. Andy Mapes August 10, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Okay, Joey. Let’s get this started. $25 from the guy in the back.

  3. Cindy Turner August 10, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I think the current cost of the paints/canvas is worth $40.00 for Joey!

  4. Andy Mapes August 10, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Sorry, Big Joe. Did I say $25? I actually meant $55.

  5. JSW August 10, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    $75.

  6. Angie August 10, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Ya’ll are supposed to save the bidding wars for the end. 😉 And you all are awesome.

    • Cindy Turner August 10, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      This is what FUND RAISING is all about Miss Angie! SEE ya all back on Friday!

  7. Jaclyn August 12, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Auction closed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

