Let Joey’s Auction 2011 begin

1 Aug

Last year, this blog hosted an auction to raise money to help celebrate my brother’s 21st birthday. We raised nearly $750  for Elim Christian Academy, where Joey attended school.

Joey has a type of autism called PDD-NOS. He turns 22 on Aug. 16. He is nonverbal but has the ability to write. His printing really used to be much more legible, but sometime in the past two or three years, he decided it would be fun to write all of his letters on top of one another.

Me and Joey, circa about 1990: "What's autism? I don't have that. I have feet."

He understands everything that is going on and loves, more than anything, Coca Cola (he takes after his sister). When we introduce new people to him, we have to warn them, “Watch your pop.” He has been known to take someone’s pop when the drinker isn’t looking. No joke — the first time my family met my now uncle Gary, Joey waited until Gary turned away from his Diet Pepsi to grab it. By the time Gary realized what had happened, Joey had downed half of it and was grinning like he’d just successfully robbed a bank.

Joey graduated from high school this past semester and will soon be entering a work program. The program will keep him busy for a few hours a day so my parents don’t want to stab my poor brother. He’s a dollface, but a turd, and he gets bored just like anyone else. He needs to get out of the house.

Unfortunately, my parents haven’t decided upon a work program yet. Something about the powers that be not returning phone calls and all the good places being full. Frustrating, because Mom and Dad have been at it for about five or six months.

In any case, Mom asked that the money raised from this auction be donated to Elim again. It was a godsend for her for a good six years.

How this auction will work

Every day for the next two weeks — ending Aug. 14 — I will post one or two auctions of handmade items, at 6 a.m. or 6 p.m. Blog readers will have at least 48 hours to place a bid in the comments, until I leave a comment declaring the auction closed. The highest bidder will win that item. Be sure to leave your e-mail address so I can contact you.

One of my senior pictures from high school, circa 2001. When he graduated, the school put together a slide show of all the graduates. This was one of the pics used, and Mom tells me a bunch of his teachers commented that they couldn't believe how alert he looked. We definitely miss that eye contact and that smile.

From there, I will contact the winner with instructions regarding how to pay. Winners can pay via PayPal to e-mail address jaclyn1423@yahoo.com or by check. Once either payment is received, I will provide the auction winner’s e-mail address to the crafter, who will send the item to the winner.

After I contact the winner by e-mail, he or she has two days to pay the amount or tell me that the check is in the mail. After two days with no response from the winner, the item will be offered up to the next highest bidder.

If you’d like to contribute to Joey’s Auction 2011 without bidding on any of the items, you are welcome to send funds through PayPal or check. Just let me know and I’ll be in touch with you.

To entice you, here’s quick run down some Joey’s Auction 2011 numbers:

  • As of right now, 18  crafters have goodies lined up to be auctioned off in Joey’s Auction 2011.
  • Crafters come from Indiana, Texas, Illinois, Michigan, Arizona, Pennsylvania, Florida, Ohio and Kentucky.
  • For 13 crafters, this is their second time donating to Joey’s Auction 2011.
  • Donations include two paintings.
  • Five of the donations can be customized in some way.
  • Five crafters have such big hearts, they’re donating to Joey’s Auction 2011 even though we’ve never met face-to-face.
  • I’m doing good this year: I only cried one time as I typed this out. It was when I was figuring which states had crafters donating to Joey’s Auction 2011.

I thank you in advance for your bids!

(If you can see anything I’m missing in the above info, leave a comment please! I’ll get back to you or update the post.)

3 Responses to “Let Joey’s Auction 2011 begin”

  1. marcaritaville August 1, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I would love to donate a MarcyMade Necklace to be auctioned. If you are interested, I will email you a picture of the necklace. I have messages you about us before – my son has Asbergers, and is very high functioning currently. I would love to help support this auction… And you could add New Hampshire to your list~!

  2. dana August 1, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    *cough cough* Ohio *cough*

  3. Natalie August 2, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Jaclyn—Thanks for all you do for Elim! I love your explanation of Joe. He will be sorely missed next year but I’ll be glad to be able to have pop in the classroom frig again!

I'd love to hear what you think!

