Traverse City in photos

21 Jul

I spent a long weekend last weeked in Traverse City, Mich. If you’re in the Midwest within driving distance, I hugely recommend TC as a weekend getaway! This is why:

  • Super clear water.
  • Beaches.
  • Wineries.
  • Sail boats.
  • Beaches.
  • Adorbs downtown.
  • Cherries, cherries everywhere.
  • Beaches.

I really liked the beaches. We hit up a different one every day. After breakfast Friday  morning, we were on one before anyone else. This is what I saw in front of me:

And to my right (say hi to Jeff!):

To my left:

And behind me:

That evening, we took a trip up the Mission Peninsula, which has more than half a dozen wineries up it as you move toward the tip. After winery No. 3, it was no longer smart to drive, so we grabbed some food before we made it to the very tip of the peninsula, where we could wave to Canada. I’m messy-haired and sweaty, but I still adore this photo:

Day 2, we took a trip to the Sleeping Bear Dunes. There was a big dune.

This is what Jeff thought about it:

My thoughts were different. (Why the frick did my flash go off?)

And then went to the beach. (He’s reading “Dune.” That’s Stephen King’s “The Eyes of the Dragon” on my blanket.)

 

I don’t know who those people are, but I heart their umbrella.

And then munched on beer and pizza at the only eating establishment in about a 30-mile radius — the greatest biker bar known to man. We could NOT find any trails … so we went to a different beach. I have to say: Being a lil drunky at 4 p.m. and in the middle of perfectly temperature’d Lake Michigan is on the short list of Life’s Greatest Pleasures.

On the slightly larger list is seeing a little fish in the water staring at the polka dots on my bathing suit. I think he was trying to figure out how to eat one of the dots. Jeff and I named him Bob. The fish. Heh. I crack me up.

This was where Bob was swimming. He has a good life:

We headed out the next day, but a little later than we thought because the early sailboat ride was cancelled. So we had a few hours to kill. We ate these:

And I bought these (those are my feet today. I was ecstatic I happened to have a dress to so awesomely match my absurd yellow elf shoes):

And then, to cap the whole trip? Some of this:

We sat across from this adorable family: Grandma, her daughter, daughter’s hubby and their two kids. As we set off, the little girl — about 5 — says: “Oar we on oth?” Translation: “Are we on earth?”

Say it with me now: Awwww.

4 Responses to “Traverse City in photos”

  1. PhaseThreeOfLife July 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I love everything about this post. Particularly the beach drunkiness at 4 p.m.

  2. Ally July 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I agree with PhaseThreeOfLife there. What a fantastic weekend. This is what my weekend dreams are mad of. 🙂

  3. Mandipidy July 23, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Ok… this is like the perfect day: beach, boat, cupcakes… life doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂 I’d have never thought to find it in Michigan, though! That state just moved up quite a bit on my “have to visit” list. 🙂

  4. Claire July 24, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    what an awesome beach! too funny about the fish. seriously i’ve had fish from a lake nibble away at my bathing suit, my toes, etc. kinda creepy. and i LOVE those shoes. they don’t really look elfy at all. and from what i can see, they look great with that dress!

    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

