Meet Yellow Heart Art AND win some funds to her shop

20 Jul

When I first started to blog, I marveled at the bloggers who went on about the wonderful people they’d met through blogging. How on earth can you befriend a stranger through the interwebs?

Now I know: Silly me! I’ve met some incredible ladies through Snap, Crackle, Pop and one of my favorites is Leonora, of Yellow Heart Art, both the Etsy shop and the blog. She’s a riot (check our her vlogs and tell me you wouldn’t like to have a margarita on the rocks with a salt rim with her), and she’s uber talented. What’s amazing is how she incorporates that fun-filled personality into her talent. Case-in-point: my fav goodie in her shop:

Meet her, won’t you?

It’s a typical Thursday at 1.30 p.m. What are you likely doing? Gaaah I am soooo boring on a Thursday afternoon! I am sitting at my desk at my lame-o corporate graphic design job hoping that the next 3 1/2 hours will somehow miraculously fly by so it can be 5 p.m. I am still working on perfecting my time traveling machine — stay tuned. Also, if you have Doc’s number, can ya hook a sistah up? Would love to test out his Delorean.

What is your favorite piece of clothing in your closet? Do hats count? Cause I love my big floppy navy blue and white stripped hat. It makes me feel like royalty — even though I bought it at TJ Maxx for, like, nine bucks. Pretty sure if the royals weren’t in the public eye, they’d be fighting me for my $9 hat. Watch it, Kate.

What’s your go-to movie, the one that you can just pop in or pick up on a lazy day to make you smile. OK, don’t hate, but I am a total sucker for ’90s teen drama Dawson’s Creek. I need my fill of Pacey Witter, guys.

What’s one thing you’d change about yourself if you could? I wish I had the ability to fly — then I would save money on gas & car payments. It would also make a great ice break at parties. “Hey, wanna see something totally rad that I can do?”

You’re on plane for 24 hours. Who do you want to sit next to (anyone dead or alive, real or fake)? What books/magazines do you want to have with you? Where do you want to be going?
  • Would you believe that I literally had to walk away from this question, like, eight times because I could not for the life of me come up with any celebrity?! Not to sound hooky, but I would want to sit next to my boyfriend. He is in the military and has been deployed two times out of the three years we have been dating, and I cherish all the time I get to spend with him ❤
  • As far as books and magazines, I would totally have a million “Lucky’s” on me. I LOOOVE their fashion like WHOASIES.
  • Daymn if I’m going on a flight for 24 hours straight I better not be back where I started HA! (Imagine?) I would love love love to go to Tahiti. My brother went on his honeymoon and said it was GOR to the GEOUS.
Tell me about your design background. I went to school for four years studying digital art and design. I also took a ton of photo courses. I have always been artsy fartsy — even back in elementary school, I was the only kid who would give my stick figure people fingernails and hair accessories. Art just feels so natural to me, and it gives me the warm and fuzzies.

Your shop is uhhhhmazing. Totally fantastic. I love your aesthetic and humor. Now … pimp your shop! If you guys go and check out my lil corner of art on Etsy, I promise at least one of my sayings will make ya go “HEEEEY, I’ve thought that too!” One of my favorite ones is “I love you so much I’m willing to make silly faces in public just to see you smile.” I’m not into gushy mushy romance. I try to keep it light, quirky and fun ❤

If you won $10 to your shop, what would you buy? I would totally put it towards one of my necklaces! Totally crushin’ on “Your Boyfriend’s Shirt and Tie” cause why does your boyfriend get to have all the fun with the oversized button down shirts and ties? Besides, you never have to press it, get it dry cleaned or worry ’bout staining it. Bada-bing, instant fashion around your neck. Boom.

Now, would YOU like to win $10 to spend in her shop? Leonora is giving one lucky Snap, Crackle, Pop winner the gift card, just ’cause she’s awesome like that.

Here are the deets:

  • This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only (sorry, worldwide readers!!)
  • You must use this store credit within one month of receiving it.
  • Giveaway ends July 27 and doesn’t include custom prints.
Here’s how to enter:
  • You must follow the Yellow Heart Art  and Snap, Crackle, Pop blogs. She has Google Friend Connect, but my format doesn’t like that widget — sign up for e-mail alerts or just add my URL to whichever aggregate you use. Leave one comment saying you’ve done both of these things.

REALLY want to win? Here are ways to get some extra entries. Be sure to leave a separate comment for each entry:

Get to know @yellowheartart AND win $10 to her shop over at @Jaclyn1423’s blog http://wp.me/pv0FQ-ND

That’s a total of FIVE ways to enter. Best of luck to all, and thanks so much, Leonora, for this fun giveaway.
26 Responses to “Meet Yellow Heart Art AND win some funds to her shop”

  1. kiddo July 21, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I follow both blogs.

  2. kiddo July 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I like you both on FB (Suzanne Gregg).

  3. kiddo July 21, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    I follow you both on Twitter @kiddo47.

  4. kiddo July 21, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I heart you both on Etsy (houseofplush).

  5. kiddo July 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I tweeted.

  6. stacy h July 22, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    i follow you via email newsletters and gfc for yellow! stacythemagnificentmommy is my gfc name =)

    hancoci_s at msn dot com

  7. stacy h July 22, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    i am a fb fan of both stacy lynn b h
    hancoci_s at msn dot com

  8. stacy h July 22, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    i follow both on twitter, @organicmommyluv

    hancoci_s at msn dot com

  9. stacy h July 22, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    hearted both on etsy! staycelyne is my UN there =)
    hancoci_s at msn dot com

  10. Jill July 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    i follow ‘yellow heart art’ via gfc and added ‘snap, crackle, pop’ to my google reader feed.
    thanks for the chance to win. 🙂

  11. Jill July 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    i ‘heart’ both shops on etsy.
    etsy name: jillojillo

  12. Fancy Dodo July 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    following both blogs

    rory m.

  13. Fancy Dodo July 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    also following you both on twitter!

  14. Fancy Dodo July 25, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    and hearted you both on etsy (fancydodo)

  15. Melissa July 25, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Following yellow heart art on GFC (Mimi Avila) via twitter @ninjabunyz1
    Signed up for newsletter for Snap, Crackle, Pop with email ninjabunnyz@hotmail.com

  16. Melissa July 25, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Liked Yellow Heart Art AND Jaclyn1423 on Facebook (Mimi Avila)

  17. Melissa July 25, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Following both on twitter @ninjabunyz1

  18. Melissa July 25, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Hearted both on etsy (ninjabunnyz1)

  19. Melissa July 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Tweeted

  20. Eden Ellis July 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I subscribed to both blogs. 🙂

  21. Eden Ellis July 26, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Hearted both shops on etsy! (Username Edelet)

  22. Thrifty Mom Spot July 26, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I’ve done both 🙂
    dinos_still_exist@yahoo.com

  23. Thrifty Mom Spot July 26, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    “Liked” both of you on FB 🙂
    dinos_still_exist (at) yahoo (dot) com

  24. Thrifty Mom Spot July 26, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Following both on twitter @thriftymomspot
    dinos_still_exist (at) yahoo (dot) com

  25. Thrifty Mom Spot July 26, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Hearted both shops @necklacepix

    dinos_still_exist (at) yahoo (dot) com

  26. Sherry Hart July 27, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I am a follower and subscribed to email. Th & grow really old together is cute!

I'd love to hear what you think!

