I’m a doer. AND a talker. But mainly a doer.

6 Jul

This is the fourth post is a series, Project: 50 Questions, designed to take Snap, Crackle, Pop into a slightly more thoughtful (and probably long-winded, you have my apologies in advance) direction. Enjoy!

4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Absolutely not.

It’s true: I’m a talker. I have wanderlust, and I talk about my travels-to-be. I talk about my visits-to-make. My roadtrips to drive.

But I do what I can to make them reality, too.

I know what it’s like to hear “I wish …” and “I hope …” and “I want to …” I dated a guy like that, and it regularly made me want punch him in the face. Because in the midst of all his dreaming, he never did a damn thing to achieve any of the wishes or hopes or goals. I think you have to daydream aloud as a kind of planning process, but daydreams without action? That’s called disappointment.

A regular complaint my mom shares with me is this: Can’t you ever just stay home? I’m busy a lot. I want to make the most of my time, and as a result, I’m on-the-go often. It’s important to me to maintain my long-distance friendships. It’s important to me to see everything I want to see. It’s important to me to experience everything I want to experience with the people I love.

I like time alone. I forewent a firework display Sunday night to stay home solo. I read and made jewelry, and, in the midst of a very busy weekend, it was a glorious  three or four hours, bookended between a trip to the pool with a friend and a Sunday night slumber party with said friend, a bottle of wine and lots and lots of talking.

So I can say with happy certainty: When all is said and done, I will have done what I have said.

But, I do admit a worry: I’ve said for years that will go to Italy before I turn 30. I fear this won’t happen. I always figured I’d go alone the summer I’m 29 (next summer) if I can’t find anyone to go with. But I don’t want to go alone. I want to share that experience with someone.

I truly, truly hope it happens.

Previous entry from Project: 50 Questions:

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

2 Responses to “I’m a doer. AND a talker. But mainly a doer.”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart July 6, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I miiiiight just a talker.

    Actually, I know I am. if I were a doer, I would have written a book by now…

  2. Ally July 6, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Remember when I said you were a romantic? That’s what’s cool about it – it doesn’t just sound like empty ramblings – its sound like incredibly cool things, felt with your heart, that you’ll really make happen! Good for you! (And I dated one of those guys too – definitely makes you want to punch them in the face!)

I'd love to hear what you think!

