Of course I’d rather fail

20 Jun

This is the second post is a series, Project: 50 Questions, designed to take Snap, Crackle, Pop into a slightly more thoughtful (and probably long-winded, you have my apologies in advance) direction. Enjoy!

2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?

This is a loaded question. Because, while it is worded as though I, as the respondent, have a choice to make, I really don’t. Because “failing,” clearly, is the “right” answer.

If I say “never trying” is the right answer, I am outing myself as unadventurous. I am outing myself as a competitive perfectionist, which I’m hugely not.

If I say that I would rather fail, however, I’m telling you that I’m OK with me. I’m OK with my knowledge and my abilities, and that by failing, I am not worried what others might think of that knowledge or those abilities.

Obviously, I’d rather fail. And frankly, I think anyone who blogs — or writes anything meant for the public eye — would say the same. Because by the simple act of writing something intended for others to read, we are saying:

  1. I think what I have to say is worth something, be it entertainment value or educational value, and
  2. If you disagree with me, I’m OK with that. (This is an unexpectedly wonderful tie-in to a blog post I’ve had floating about in my head for some time, which I will make a sort of Part II to this idea. Hint: It’s about how to deal with Negative Nellies on your blog.) 

As far as failing vs. not even trying, I ask you: Would anyone in bloggy land ever actually say “I prefer to never try”? If you’re one of those, I invite you to share your thought-process with me! Why do you feel that way?

Previous entries from Project: 50 Questions:

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
I'd love to hear what you think!

