A clue into what today will look like

15 Jun

So this morning, I’m getting dressed. I finish, and I feel pretty good. I dig my outfit today (purple cotton sundress from Kohl’s, big wide stretchy black belt around my middle, super pale pink/peach boyfriend cardi from New York & Company, black heels) and I think, “Wow. I feel pretty. This is nice.” (“‘I do.’ ‘I am.’ She talks like a parrot!”)

I get into the car and head to Old Crown, my favorite coffee joint in town, because it’s a raspberry  mocha day. And Raspberry Mocha Day is always a good day. On the drive, however, I realize: I am not wearing a stitch of makeup.

For those who don’t know me: This is unheard of. I’ve had acne since I was a fetus, and while my scarring isn’t disfiguring or anything, the scars are visible. Luckily, my face is currently as clear as it’s ever been, but still … no makeup? No mascara for my short little lashes? Interesting …

But still, it was a wonderful trip to work. A woman at Old Crown told me my necklace was “perfect,” which was pretty cool. And I heard two of my current favorite songs on the radio, which is always a good omen. (No judging — they’re catchy!)

The "perfect" necklace was a birthday gift from the beau. I have to say, I'm not usually into butterflies, but he guessed right on the color as I'm all about purple currently. And also? It's kind of awesome. So go him. I love when people know me well enough to get me something I didn't even know I wanted.

But … no makeup??!! That’s now out-of-it I am today. Because I’m leaving after work to start the celebration for the bestie’s wedding. And I’m beyond psyched.

One Response to “A clue into what today will look like”

  1. Ally June 15, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I admire you for continuing on your way. I would have gone back for makeup, skipped my favorite mocha, and been late to work. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

