On spiders and cousins

1 Jun

I just discovered a new (well, new for me) linkup over at One Cluttered Brain. It’s called the Monday Mingle. (Do you mind that it’s Wednesday? I don’t. Let’s roll.)

What animal or bug are you completely terrified of? Giant effing spiders. Last summer, one built a web across my balcony, and I could not open the door to get outside to kill it because I knew he would jump on my face and eat my eyes. At the time I found the bug, I was on the phone with my friend Jake, who laughed at me concerning my reaction for the next week. I promptly hung up with Jake, who is an out-of-town fellow, and called the beau, who lives like two miles away. I hope he didn’t save the voice mail, but it was freaked out enough that he turned around in his car just to head over to my apartment and play spider-killer.

I don’t fear regular-size spiders. Just spiders this size. (Yes, I totally took a pic of him then. What??)

How many cousins do you have? Six on Dad’s side, 14 on Mom’s. Don’t even ask me to count second and third cousins.

What state are most of your relatives located in? How often do you get to see them? Most of my fam is in Illinois. I see my parents and brother about once a month. I see extended fam (aunts, uncles, cousins) a few times a year.

Three questions — short and sweet. Pick a question and answer it in the comments, or link up over at Monday Mingle!

 

3 Responses to “On spiders and cousins”

  1. Stephanie June 1, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Umm….if I would have seen a spider like that, I’m pretty sure I would have locked the door and just moved. You know he’s just waiting to call his spidey friends to come have a porch party with spider-sized margaritas with little umbrellas in them. After they all get good and drunk…THEN they eat your face.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart June 1, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I hate spiders SO MUCH. The biggest one I’ve ever seen was outside the Stater office, actually, during training week over the summer. I almost died. Jonas Fortune threw a shoe at it, & it EXPLODED. Yellow, red & black goop everywhere. I think there were tears involved on the part of multiple scared onlookers.

  3. Ally June 1, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    That picture of the spider gave me shivers. Ugh. Ack. Eek. Yikes. And GROSS.

    Cousins? Complicated! Mom’s side – 3 + 7 (there’s a marriage thing in there). Dad’s side – 7 + 2 (another marriage thing). But I’m only close to a handful. The rest I only see at marriages, funerals and family reunions! And like you, don’t get me started on the 2nd’s and 3rd’s!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

