Oddmall & Kent: A weekend in pics

10 May

This past weekend, Jaclyn1423 and The Angry Cupcake teamed up to share a booth at Oddmall!

To sum up the event: At one point, the beau walked up to me and told me he found something he was going to buy — a squirrel skull in a rose. Later, he came back and told me, “Nevermind, I have a skull at home. I’ll make the rose.”

I set up the jewelry a little different because I shared the table and so had to set UP …. as in vertically. My two favorite additions:

Hey Mom, recognize this thing? It started a very pale mint green. I made it better 🙂

This is a two-level magazine stand. Switch out the Rolling Stone and Elle for some cork board squares, and you have yourself a pretty awesome jewelry stand.

Oddmall was in Hudson, Ohio, which is very close to Kent State University, my alma mater. Friends stopped by. Everyone, say hello to Rachel. Isn’t she gorg??

She's also very teeny. I'm in 3-inch heels and squatting down a little so I feel less behemothy.

After Oddmall, the beau and I went to dinner at the aforementioned Nick Anthe’s. Then, I showed off downtown Kent on a Saturday night … the Saturday after graduation. So yes, there were grads in mortar boards and others high-fiving strangers  (me).

The next day, Sunday, we had plans to meet up with Dana and her husband for one of my favorite lunch joints on the planet, Rockne’s. First off, Kent State. Unfortunately, a university the day after graduation is all kinds of dead, but we still got to wander campus in springtime.

No visit to Kent State is complete without a stop at Taylor Hall. Yes, it’s where I lived from fall 2001 to spring 2005 (I was a total student media whore — newspaper, general interest magazine, sexual minority issues magazine, literary magazine, SPJ … you get the picture), but it’s also the building that provided the backdrop for the May 4, 1970, shootings. (That iconic photo everyone associates with May 4? Totally taken by a student magazine photographer with a camera from the student newspaper.)

My favorite bit of May 4 history is in the giant, hideously ugly metal statue thing on the hill where the National Guard stood, right behind Taylor. In that awful statue is a bullet hole.

The Sunday we visited campus was the Sunday after May 4, and campus does it up every anniversary of the shooting — speeches and lectures and candle-lit vigils and the campus done up in so much chalk, you can’t believe it. The uggo statue gets some of the most chalk, usually around the hole.

This visit, however, showed me one of my favorite “decorations,” if you will:

Someone drew a peace sign around the hole and placed a rose through it. The flower couldn’t have been more than a few hours old. I removed the flower, smelled it, offered it to the beau and placed it back.

On the other side of Taylor, someone put this little dude in a hole in a tree:

And to end on a lovey note: me and the beau, and me and Ms. Danaface:

4 Responses to “Oddmall & Kent: A weekend in pics”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart May 10, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I love that Rachel came out to see you! Wish I could’ve.

  2. Meghan May 11, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    I love so many things about this post.

    1. Rockne’s !!
    2. Your ode to Taylor Hall.
    3. My dear Dana.
    4. Rockne’s !!

    • Dana May 18, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      But…what about Rockne’s? 🙂

  3. Claire May 11, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    looks like you had a fabulous show. love all the things you’ve used to display the jewelry!

    and what a memorable trip to Kent State. I totally remember watching a movie on it when I was in high school.

    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you think!

