Guest post: Meghan at Phase Three of Life

5 May

I remember my very first memory of Meghan (this is impressive, as I have the memory recall of an early-onset Alzheimer’s patient). I was a freshman in college. She was a sophomore, which meant she was already unbearably cool. We were on the student newspaper together.

The first memory constitutes sitting on the stairs at the student center in the late summer sunshine with another unbearably cool sophomore, Dana. I don’t remember what we talked about or how long we sat there, but I remember my feeling:

Ohmigod, I’m in college, these girls are so pretty and cool, ohmigod, I don’t want to say something stupid, I want them to like me, ohmigod.

Fast forward 10 years (ugh). I haven’t seen Meghan since … she graduated, I think? (Is that right???) She’s in Arizona , I’m in Indiana and we have talked to each other more in the past few months than we have in the intervening decade because of … well … blogging.

She does it, over at Phase Three of Life. Her explanation of the title is pretty stellar: The second phase of her life started when she packed her car and drove from the Midwest to Arizona. The third phase started when she had her super adorable, fat-faced son. (I say “fat-faced” with nothing but love. I adore fat head babies entirely more than I should.)

Meghan is the first Snap, Crackle, Sponsor for you to meet! Once you read her words here, hop over to Phase Three of Life for more of her expertly written, completely adorable mom musings.

(I can’t figure out how to make the font the same, so forgive that bloggy glitch, happy readers.)

* * *

Pretty Meg! Fat head baby! All is right in the world.

If you’ve had a baby in the past few years, you’ve probably heard of a trendy new thing called a “push present.” It’s a gift your hubby buys you for pushing the kid out.

I know, I know: The BABY is the present. You have a kid now! Your priorities are different; material things no longer matter! I thought the same thing at first.

Then I went through a long pregnancy. In the summer, in Arizona. I had a pretty easy pregnancy and can’t complain too much. But it WAS over 100 degrees for half of my pregnancy. I DID have an hour-long commute to work. And the kid WAS 10 days late.

As I neared my due date, I started thinking that it would be nice to have a “mom” ring. I perused jewelry online and found an amazing vintage-y silver ring with a sapphire – Ryan’s birthstone!

I emailed a link to Mike and hinted that I thought it was pretty (i.e., told him I wanted it for pushing out his kid). He sweetly offered to buy it for me (i.e., was smart enough to not say no to ANYTHING I wanted in the last 2 weeks of my pregnancy).

I don't know that I've ever seen a design like that. Gorgeous.

Turns out, I had to push that kid for 2 1/2 hours while laying ON MY LEFT SIDE. Yeah, I totally earned that ring.

(Don’t tell Mike, but I’m trying to plan for kid No. 2 to be born in the month of April. April = diamonds.)

2 Responses to “Guest post: Meghan at Phase Three of Life”

  1. Erica May 6, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Meggers, your plan to have Baby #2 in April is a fab one. 🙂 Perhaps you can try for April 16 so baby can have the same birthday as her/his Aunt Boozie?!

  2. Erica May 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    P.S. I know how well trying to get the baby out on the due date actually works out in the end… 😉

I'd love to hear what you think!

