Quoted and noted: Stephen King

23 Mar

“I hated high school. I don’t trust anybody who looks back on the years from 14 to 18 with any enjoyment. If you liked being a teenager, there’s something wrong with you.” ~ Stephen King

While the idea that my favorite author … oh, hell, my favorite human I’ve ever never met could think there’s something wrong with me makes me want to weep, I do understand the concept.

In high school, I thought it was the be-all, end-all of life. And MAN, was it unimportant. I want to take high schoolers today and shake them full of “THIS DOESN’T MATTER.” So while I did enjoy myself in high school, I do look back at it as a time when I should have had much more fun and done less homework.

How do you view high school?

In fact, I often look back at myself from high school and think, "Why did I have friends?" Yes, that's me with a Chicago Bulls shirt on AND a gold Chicago Bulls pendant. I was something of a Jordan fan, to put it lightly. Where do you think the "23" in "Jaclyn1423" comes from?

6 Responses to “Quoted and noted: Stephen King”

  1. Stephanie March 23, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    You wonder how you had friends? How did I have friends???? Have you seen those bangs?? We were just both nerds together, I guess.

    I had fun when I was a teenager. When I look back and think of how annoying I probably was to every adult around me, but I had fun. hehe

  2. Ally March 24, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    While I had fun at the time, I look back and cringe a lot!! I definitely believe it’s a time you should only live through once – I wouldn’t want to go back!

  3. Gail March 25, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    I remember those two beautiful girls and you were not nerds…..maybe just different! ha ha

    • Jaclyn March 25, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Oh, yay! Thank you Gail 🙂 That’s just about the sweetest comment to wake up to in the morning.

  4. Adeen April 25, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    I like this article. I am currently in high school and I hate it. I was bullied my freshmen year. I was rejected by my crush my sophomore year and this year, I my GPA dropped so much, it is not real.
    I am doing better now but I can’t wait until next fall because it is my senor year and I want my senior year to go by quickly.

    I feel awkward and ugly everyday………I can’t wait until high school is over.

    • Jaclyn April 25, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

      I am so sorry things are going so badly, Adeen. I hope one day, you can look back fondly, but if not, at least you’re almost done! Hang in there 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

