Quoted and noted: On Glee & The Talk

17 Mar

“I think most of my sex ed came in senior year calculus. We’d divide into groups of four all the time, and it was me (valedictorian), my best friend (salutatorian), a girl who went on to work at NASA and another smart girl who was sexually active. So NASA girl would quickly do the actual work, teach us calc, and then we’d spend the rest of class quizzing the fourth girl on her sex life. Good times.” ~Mandi Bierly, Entertainment Weekly, 3.9.11

I read the above quote in EW.com’s review of last week’s episode of Glee. The post discusses how amazingly Kurt’s dad handled The Talk with his gay son.

Seriously, Burt and Kurt Hummel are one of the greatest father/son pairings in TV. Based on the band holding back Kurt's hair, I'd guess this hug came in the first season after he came out to his dad, which happened during Kurt's nightly skin-care routine.

Do you remember having any form of The Talk? My memories are spotty and vague:

  • I remember Mom brought books home from the library when I was in maybe third grade, but then she took them from me because the pictures were too graphic.
  • I remember being very VERY shocked when I learned girls had three holes Down There, also probably around third grade. I don’t remember the words used or how Mom described what sex was, but I remember being pretty grossed out.
  • I remember, most clearly, the CDD class on sex ed. Oh dear God. I was in a room full of other … sixth graders? Junior high’ers? The boys and girls were kept together, and our parents were asked to attend, too. We watched a video of woman with terrible, frosted, big Farrah Fawcett hair who told us our virginity was a gift that is meant for your spouse on your wedding night. And wouldn’t it be sad to have to give the person you marry a gift that’s all torn and wrinkled and ugly and retaped? (Cheesy? Damn right. But it stuck with me a really long time — my memory blows, and I still remember it now — so clearly it had some effect.)

What do you remember about when you received The Talk?

3 Responses to “Quoted and noted: On Glee & The Talk”

  1. Jayme (The Random Blogette) March 17, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I never had a sex talk with my parents. But, I had the talk the other day with my 9 year old son. Oh LORDY was it stressful. I will post about it soon. it is too good not to share!

    I just remember being split into boys and girls in fifth grade and being taken to seperate classes and watching horrible videos about periods. I thought I was starting my period every day after that. I was so worried I was going to bleed to death!

    • Meg Loop March 17, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      I thought about this a few episodes ago when Kurt first criticized his dad for not brushing up on facts about gay sex and that he should learn more about the mechanics of it. I wanted to say, “Kurt buddy, no one asks their parents about the fundamentals of sex. They want to get out with as little emotional scarring as possible.”

  2. Stephanie March 18, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    haha I totally remember THE talk with my mom.

    It was in the summer before 5th (or was it 6th) grade. My mom sat me down in the livingroom and started it with “OK, I’m going to tell you what sex is. It’s kind of gross….”

    haha, I love her 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

