Quoted & Noted: the fortune cookie version

15 Mar

Had Chinese for lunch today with a friend. This is one of the coolest fortunes I’ve ever gotten in a cookie.

“Ideas not coupled with action never become bigger than the brain cells they occupied.” ~ Chinese fortune cookie

When I look at friends of mine who have found themselves with any measure of success in their fields, it’s because they went for it. It’s because they not only had amazing, creative and wonderful ideas, but they acted on those ideas.

This might seem like an obvious fact, but when I realized it, I found it pretty novel. Andy might not be any better of a writer than Steve, but he’s more ambitious. Faith might not be any more talented than Bridget, but she’s more ambitious.

It makes me wonder sometimes: I want to one day, say, have a book of short stories out. Is the only thing standing in my way me?

I know this post is pretty all-0ver-the-place. Forgive my spazziness. Just kind of thinking aloud here. I’m interested to know what you think! Are your most successful friends that way because they act on their big dream?

2 Responses to “Quoted & Noted: the fortune cookie version”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart March 15, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    One of my favorite quotes is quite similar:

    “Good intentions alone not accompanied by action are without value. The main thing is the action, as this is what makes the intention so profound.”
    [Yehudi HaKadosh]

  2. Phase Three of Life March 15, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I definitely think there is some truth to that. I think some people don’t even really consider that they might encounter roadblocks. It’s just in their nature to assume they’ll be successful and go for it, and that confidence and attitude goes a long way. But I think there might be a bit of luck at play, too. That whole “right place, right time” phenomenon.

I'd love to hear what you think!

