Shop Talk: The Peach Tree

10 Mar

The Peach Tree is one of the very first Etsy shops I remember learning about. The adorable name stuck with me, so I remembered the URL easily. And the photos! Oh, the photos! I don’t know that I’ve seen jewelry photographed more brilliantly. I have no idea what kind of lens you’re using, Amy, but good job, Lady!

I purchased my first pair of earrings from Amy a few weeks ago. Her K2 collection had caught my eye the first time she posted the pieces (I LOVE this necklace), and one pair of earrings in particular poked me and told me they loved me.

See? See how much they love me?

In addition to her lovely photography and memorable shop name, Amy is a joy to work with. She’s friendly and prompt — that latter becomes even more impressive when you see how successful her shop is. When I purchased my earrings, she was hovering over the 3,000-sale threshold. As I type this, The Peach Tree is sitting pretty at 3,047 sales.

Naturally, I wanted to pick Amy’s brain, and she was happy to oblige. For this edition of Shop Talk, I bring you: Amy, of Brooklyn, NY.

First, I have to say: As a fellow jewelry designer on Etsy, your shop is so inspiring. You’ve had such incredible success in a medium that’s oh-so saturated and difficult to get into on Etsy. To what do you attribute your success? Thank you so much. The three-years-ago me that started this little shop wouldn’t believe it had come to this. I am thankful everyday to be able to wake up and do what I love. The main thing I can pinpoint that I believe truly helped me — and helps me to this day — is the community: time with the community, talking with the community, pulling inspiration and knowledge from the community. And on and on and on.

Totally one of my fav pics in The Peach Tree. How adorable is this!

Can you give me an example of that community? Anywhere from helping form teams (I’m no leader, but I love to help bring people together), being a part of different teams, actively meeting and discovering new shops via the Etsy treasury, getting involved in the Etsy Success Challenges (ie: this last winter’s Boot Camp), keeping up-to-the-minute with people on Twitter and Facebook, and the list could go on and on. But really it’s the friendships I’ve formed from doing all of these things that has brought me where I am today.

OK, the goodies in your packages are adorable. Did you make the little button that came with the earrings, too? And that Polaroid’esque print — is that your photo? Or are those things you find off other folks on Etsy? Ahha! This actually ties in perfectly with what I was talking about with the community. One of my favorite things is to be able to support other artists. I arrange swaps with various Etsy shops and include their items in my packages! The Etsy buttons are actually from Esty Labs. The Polaroids usually have a business card attached to the back (I’m at the end of my batch so am out of them right now!) and are made by the lovely JerseyMaids. That way I get to share a little bit more of Etsy with each of my customers.

When you’re not designing jewelry, how do you spend your time? Do you have another job, or is this a full-time gig for you? This is mainly a full-time job for me, which has been a work-in-progress. I’ve definitely come to realize it takes the time of a full-time job whether I have it or not.

Tell me about your favorite item in your shop. I fall in love with new stones and pieces on a daily basis. Which is probably why my collection is so vast! I continuously come back to this necklace (pictured below) though.  I keep one for myself. Something about it seems to ancient and primal.

 

Nunavut Collection - Necklace . Chain . Natural Gemstone . Nugget Drop . Simple Pendant

What is your shop’s best selling item? My dancing pearl earrings do very well. I scour the ends of the beading world, searching out the different colors.

 

These yellow dancing pearls have always been one of my faves.

Where does the title of your shop come from? I wish I had a better answer for this! When I had decided to set up shop, my boyfriend and I sat down and had a little brainstorm session. The first name out of his mouth was thePeachTree … I liked it.

Wherever you are as you type out the answers to this, what are five things you can reach without standing?

 

  1. A cup of Bergamot tea
  2. My notepad (from The Fancy Lamb)
  3. My orange earfrog headphones
  4. A cat (two cats at the moment, actually)
  5. A piece of jewelry waiting to be listed in the shop

 

A vintage book journal by The Fancy Lamb

Have you taken a look through The Peach Tree? What’s your favorite item? Or maybe you have a Peach Tree goodie. Tell me about it!

 

2 Responses to “Shop Talk: The Peach Tree”

  1. cooljewelrydesign March 10, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I admire Amy’s work, her endless collections (how do you DO it?) and dedication to featuring brand new Etsy shops in treasuries. She is very generous in looking beyond her own shop and extending a helping hand.

  2. metalicious March 10, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Amy is such a warm and friendly seller, and her work is so appealing. It’s no wonder she’s so successful! Great article, thank you so much!

I'd love to hear what you think!

