Thoughts of Spring {Blog Party}

7 Mar

I’m coming a little late to the party, but better late than never, right??

The blog dancing barefoot on weathered ground is hosting a link-up party that ends tomorrow. I get a kick out of these because it’s such a great way to find new blogs and bloggers. If you’d like to participate too, just click on the button.

How would people describe your personality if they could only use ONE word? Are they right? Naturally, I’m skipping the first one because no one is best described in a single word. (Based on that answer, I suppose you could say “independent,” but there’s much more than that, I swear!)

What celebrity/celebrities would make you star-struck if you saw them in real life? Stephen King. It’s on my bucket list to shake his hand one day, and yet I’m so fearful of ever meeting him because I would so, so lose my shit.

Who is your favorite blogger? Why? Probably Kate over at Suburban Sweetheart. Her mix of funny and serious is really great, and her writing style is one of my favorites.

What is your comfort food/drink? Probably Mom’s spaghetti sauce. It’s my nani’s recipe. It’s the best on the planet. I have no doubt of it.

Be brave – tell us something very random and weird about yourself. I have what I call monkey feet. The space between my big toe and the one next to it looks like there used to be a sixth toe. I can totally pick things up with it.

Do you have a strong desire to do something you’ve never done? What is it? Oh, lots of stuff! For this, let’s go with … visit all 50 states. And for “visit” to count, I say I have to have a memory there that does NOT include “had a layover” or “drove through without getting out of the car.” So far, I’ve been to (wow, I’ve never counted this up before) … 14. No. 15 will happen in November for my friend’s wedding in Arizona.

Movies: Action, Drama, Romantic Comedy, Documentary, Comedy? What are your favorite genres? Probably comedy.

Books: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Romance, Biographies, True Stories, Self-Help, Devotional/Study? What are your favorite types of reading material? Memoirs and Stephen King.

Music: Funk, Rock, Country, Jazz, Classical, Film Score, Blues, Classic Rock, Crooner, Alternative, Heavy Metal, Techno? What are your favorite types? The John Mayer/Jason Mraz genre. The BB King/Ray Charles genre. The Adele/Amy Winehouse genre.

If you inherited a million dollars, what is the first thing you would do with your money? Buy two plane tickets and travel the world.

Name one weakness of yours (confession is good for the soul). When I see anyone less fortunate than I, in any way, I have to work to keep myself from crying.

If you could live anywhere at all (and take all your loved ones with you), where would you go? San Diego.

This is a bird in San Diego. Well, Coronodo Island. But same thing. January 2010.

Strange Talent? Can you juggle basketballs, put your legs behind your head or perform some other strange feat? I quack. And can raise each eyebrow independently of the other.

What’s something you consider yourself to be good at? (Don’t worry, it’s not bragging, it’s acknowledging a God given gift). I think I’m a good friend.

What is one of your favorite things to catch a whiff of? Clove cigarettes. And no, I don’t smoke. Never have. But those things smell DELICIOUS.

When you leave a social gathering, do you wish: You would have talked more or You would have talked less? Depends on the social gathering. If it was with my friends, less. If it was where I didn’t know many people, more.

If money wasn’t a factor, what stores would you shop in? Lucky Jeans, David Yurman, Anthropologie

What is your greatest fear or strange phobia? Someone breaking into my apartment and raping me.

What is your greatest accomplishment? I hope I haven’t achieved it yet 🙂

What are your favorite animals? English bulldogs, cats that don’t make me itch, Donald Duck.

Are you a hopeless romantic? Nope. (Though the beau tells me he does think I’m romantic, which I found surprising and very sweet.)

What movie or book character can you most relate to? Liz Gilbert. Granted, “Eat, Pray, Love” was truth, so she’s not quite a “character.” And I’ve never been divorced or needed to flee my life. Instead, I relate to the idea of wanting to travel to new places — for me, it wouldn’t be to escape, but to better understand.

3 Responses to “Thoughts of Spring {Blog Party}”

  1. Meghan March 8, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Love that Suburban Sweetheart blog. Thanks for sharing – I love finding fun new blogs.

    Also, I can totally pick stuff up with my toes. Mike calls them my “finger toes.” 😉

  2. Amy March 8, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Hi. Nice to meet you. My name is Amy. I had planned to try and get around to reading all of these links, but more kept appearing and I have run out of time. I think these links disappear when the party ends, so since I will no longer be able to find your blog, please contact me and let me know if you are interested in me still reading your link and I can come back at another date and do so. I have throuly enjoyed learning about everyone I have read about so far and would love to know more about you too! Hope you have enjoyed the party…

  3. Amy March 13, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Nice to comeback and learn more since the links didn’t disappear… What do you want your greatest accomplishment(S) to be?

I'd love to hear what you think!

